The early history of the Junior National Basketball Championships in India from 1977 to 2001, including top two winners in both men and women. The Junior National Championship is held for players in the 18-and-under age group.

Year Month Hosting City Hosting State Men Women
Winners Runners up Winners Runners up
1977 Trichur Kerala Chandigarh Maharashtra Maharashtra Punjab
1978 Bhilwara Rajasthan Maharashtra Rajasthan Maharashtra Karnataka
1979 Burdwan West Bengal Maharashtra Tamil Nadu Maharashtra Karnataka
1980 Jamshedpur Bihar/Jharkhand Karnataka Maharashtra Maharashtra Kerala
1981 January Goa Karnataka Maharashtra Punjab Maharashtra
1981 May Pune Maharashtra Kerala Uttar Pradesh Kerala Maharashtra
1983 Indore Madhya Pradesh Punjab Maharashtra Kerala Maharashtra
1984 Nowgaon Madhya Pradesh Andhra Pradesh Maharashtra Kerala Maharashtra
1985 Baroda Gujarat Maharashtra Kerala Delhi Kerala
1986 Neiveli Tamil Nadu Kerala Maharashtra Punjab Maharashtra
1987 Jabalpur Madhya Pradesh Rajasthan Haryana Maharashtra Kerala
1988 Bhilwara Rajasthan Madhya Pradesh Punjab
1989 Sholapur Maharashtra Maharashtra Kerala Punjab Maharashtra
1990 Indore Madhya Pradesh Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra Punjab Kerala
1991 Delhi Delhi Madhya Pradesh Rajasthan Maharashtra Punjab
1992 Ludhiana Punjab Andhra Pradesh Rajasthan Punjab Maharashtra
1993 Chandigarh Chandigarh Madhya Pradesh Rajasthan Chandigarh Punjab
1994 Sitara Maharashtra Tamil Nadu Rajasthan Tamil Nadu Chandigarh
1995 Kangra Himachal Pradesh Andhra Pradesh Punjab Kerala Maharashtra
1996 Bathinda Punjab Punjab Andhra Pradesh Tamil Nadu Kerala
1997 Delhi Delhi Punjab Kerala Maharashtra Madhya Pradesh
1998 Patiala Punjab Madhya Pradesh Rajasthan
1999 Pondicherry Pondicherry Andhra Pradesh Rajasthan
2000 Sarkaghat Himachal Pradesh Punjab Uttar Pradesh
2001 Bhilai Chhattisgarh Punjab

ALSO READ: Senior National Basketball Championships in India – Complete History

*Shop Now for Basketball Products on Amazon!

The above list shows that in the first 15 years of the Junior National level, Maharashtra women and Punjab men were the most successful teams.


If you’ve come this far…

*Affiliate Disclosure & Disclaimer: Ekalavyas is an affiliate marketer for Amazon. So we earn a sales commission on every product purchased via the above-embedded ad(s)/links, at no extra cost to the buyer. This is necessary to ensure that Ekalavyas can continue providing our readers (i.e. you) timely, accurate and important information on all things India Basketball. While we take care to market only quality products, Ekalavyas takes no legal or moral responsibility for any purchases made using the above links. Readers can also directly ₹ support the work of Ekalavyas via the details shared below.

₹₹ Support Ekalavyas: Ekalavyas is India’s first and only basketball media company. We are not foreign-funded, nor investor-backed. Your support and encouragement have got us this far. We now need your financial assistance to ensure we can keep providing you timely, accurate and important information. Please contribute via 🙏🏾. We are accepting contributions as low as Rs. 9/- (excluding a small processing fee charged by the payment gateway provider). Thank you for playing a part in keeping media independent and objective!

Ekalavyas now on Clubhouse! Join us for live audio conversations by following the ‘Sports India Basketball‘ Club.

Ekalavyas now on Telegram! Stay up-to-date on all the breaking news around Indian Basketball, by subscribing to the EkBallIndia Telegram Channel.

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply