• The Indian women’s basketball team is all set to participate in the 39th William Jones Cup International Basketball Tournament, which will be played from 5th to 9th July 2017 at Chinese Taipei
  • The team is led by veteran cager Anitha Paul Durai, and coached by newly appointed head coach Zoran Visic, and Asst. Coach Shiba Maggon.
  • The team opens the tournament on 5th July against New Zealand, followed by games against Japan, Korea, and Republic of China – A, before wrapping up the tournament against Republic of China – B on 9th
  • The William Jones Cup will serve as excellent competitive exposure for India ahead of the FIBA Women’s Asia Cup to be held in Bengaluru from 23rd to 29th

The Senior Indian Women’s squad. Image credits: Basketball Federation of India

Bengaluru, 3rdJuly 2017:  The Indian women’s basketball teamis all set to depart for the 39th William Jones Cup International Basketball Tournament, which is being played from July 5th to July 9th 2017 in Chinese Taipei.

The team is led by veteran cager Anitha Paul Durai, and comprises Anjana PG, Barkha Sonkar, Raspreet Sidhu, Poojamol Subhashmon, Navaneetha P Udayaumar, Kavita Akula, Rajapriyadharshini Rajaganapathi, JeenaSkaria, ShireenLimaye, Poonam Chaturvedi, and Anmolpreet Kaur. The team is being coached by newly appointed Serbian Head Coach Zoran Visic, and Coach Shiba Maggon.

Ahana Puranik will be the team physiotherapist and Mr Srinivasa Murthy will be the team manager. Maniraj Moses Henry will be the international referee from India officiating at the event.

The William Jones Cup is a basketball tournament that has been held annually in Chinese Taipei since 1977. The tournament was named in honor of Renato William Jones, who was one of the founders of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA). One team represents each country, and that team could be the national team, a professional club, or a college team. The tournament will be played in a single round-robin format, and the final points tally will determine the placing of the teams.

The women’s team will depart in the wee hours of 4th July, and arrive in Chinese Taipei in the afternoon. Their first game is against New Zealand, on 5th July at 1500 hrs(local time). Their second game is against Japan, on 6th July at 1500 hrs. Their third game is against Korea, on 7th July at 1500 hrs. Their fourth game is against Republic of China -A, on 8th July at 1900 hrs. Their final game is against Republic of China -B, on 9th July at 1700 hrs. All their games will be played at the Changhua Gymnasium, Changhua County, Taiwan.

Last year, the South Korean team took the gold in the women’s tournament, while Japan and Chinese Taipei A finished second and third respectively.




Sr. No. First Name Middle and Last Name Position DOB State/Unit
1 Anitha PAUL DURAI Guard 6/22/85 Indian Railways
2 Anjana PRASANNAN GEETHA Forward 11/9/94 Kerala
3 Anmolpreet KAUR Centre 11/24/99 Punjab/Japan
4 Barkha SONKAR Point Guard 12/24/96 Uttar Pradesh/USA
5 Jeena PALANILKUMKALAYIL SKARIA Forward 1/9/94 Kerala
6 Kavita AKULA Point Guard 1/10/96 Chhattisgarh/USA
7 Navaneetha PATTEMANE UDAYAKUMAR Forward 7/28/94 Indian Railways
8 Poojamol KOCHUPARAMBU SUBHASHMON Forward 8/14/96 Kerala
9 Rajapriyadharshini RAJAGANAPATHI Centre 1/3/94 Indian Railways
10 Raspreet SIDHU Forward 7/18/89 Delhi
11 Shireen VIJAY LIMAYE Player 2/13/95 Maharashtra
12 Poonam CHATURVEDI Player 7/1/95 Chhattisgarh
Support Staff
13 Zoran VISIC Head Coach 10/13/56 Serbia
14 Shiba MAGGON Coach 3/16/76 Delhi
15 Srinivasa MURTHY Manager 2/18/62 Karnataka
16 Ahana PURANIK Physiotherapist 9/15/92 MP
17 Maniraj PRABHU KEBA MOSES HENRY Referee 1/5/83 Tamil Nadu


Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply