• The Draw Ceremony for the FIBA Asia Women’s Cup was conducted at the Official Home Office of Chief Minister of Karnataka Sri. Siddaramaiah earlier today.
  • BFI President K Govindaraj, Secretary General Chander Mukhi Sharma, Minister for Bengaluru Development and Town Planning K J George and Minister for Youth Services and Sports Sri. Pramod Madhvaraj were also present.
  • India has been placed in Group A of Division B along with neighbour Sri Lanka; Uzbekistan and American Samoa (ASA).
  • The International Basketball Federation (FIBA) has allotted two FIBA Asia Championships to the BFI this year – the FIBA Women’s Asia Cup and the FIBA U-16 Women’s Asian Championship.  Both will be held in Bengaluru.
  • The FIBA Women’s Asia Cup 2017 will be held from 23rd to 29th July while the FIBA U-16 Women Asian Championship 2017 will be held from 22nd to 28th October.
  • This will mark the first time since 2009 that a FIBA Asia Championship will be held on Indian soil.

Karnataka CM Shri Siddaramaiah and other dignitaries look on during the draw ceremony held earlier today. Image credit: Basketball Federation of India

Bengaluru, 17th May 2017: After being relegated to Division B last time around, team India will be looking to make the most of its home court advantage to bounce back and qualify for Division A in the upcoming FIBA Women’s Asia Cup.

The Division A & B groups were set following the Draw Ceremony in Krishna Hall, Bengaluru earlier today, which placed the hosts in Group A alongside Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan and American Samoa (ASA).

Basketball Federation of India (BFI) President K. Govindaraj and Secretary General Chander Mukhi Sharma attended the ceremony. They were joined by Chief Minister of the Government of Karnataka Shri Siddaramaiah, along with his Sports Minister Pramod Madhvaraj and Minister for Bengaluru Development and Town Planning K J George. They were given the responsibility of drawing the countries who will play in Division A & B.

The groups are as follows:

Division A

Image credit: FIBA.com

Division B

Image credit: FIBA.com

The Cup is all set to take place from July 23-29 at the Kanteraava Indoor Stadium in Bengaluru and preparations are on in full swing. India first participated in this event in 1970, and has competed 17 times in total. The Indian women’s team best finish in this tournament came in the year 2013, when it finished 5th, including a historic Level 1 victory. Prior to that, India’s best finish had been 6th place at the 1992, 2009 and 2011 iterations.


Jason D’souza
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply