Don Bosco flood-lit basketball stadium in Vaduthala – the venue for the 41st Kerala State Championship for Junior Men and Women. Image credits: Kerala Basketball Association

Kochi, 26th April 2017: The 41st Kerala State Basketball Championship for Junior Men & Women 2017 will tip off on Friday, 28thApril 2017 at the Don Bosco School flood-lit basketball stadium in Vaduthala. The Championship which is allotted to Ernakulum District Basketball Association will be jointly organised by Don Bosco School under the auspices of Kerala Basketball Association.

The 6-day Championship is a prelude to the Junior National Basketball Championship to be held in Gautam Budh Nagar in Uttar Pradesh from 3rd to 11th June 2017. The State team participating in the National Championship will be selected from this tournament.

The championship, which will be played on a league cum knockout format, will feature 14 district teams in the Jr. Men’s division and 12 district teams in the Jr. Women’s division.  Top 3 teams from Pool A & Pool B, and one each from Pool C & Pool D will qualify for the knock-out stage in the Jr. Men’s category while the top 2 teams from each pool in the Jr. Women’s category will qualify.

Kottayam and Kozhikode are the reigning champions of the Jr. Men’s and Jr. Women’s category respectively.


Jr. Men

Pool A- Kottayam, Trivandrum, Alappuzha &Kannur

Pool B – ThrissurErnakulamIdukki & Pathanamthitta

Pool C- Kozhikode, Kollam & Palakkad

Pool D- Malappuram, Kasargod & Wayanad

Jr. Women

Pool A- Kozhikode,Idukki &Wayanad

Pool B – Thrissur, Kollam & Ernakulam

Pool C Kannur, Kottayam & Palakkad

Pool D- Trivandrum, Alappuzha & Malappuram

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply