Indian ace Ms. Saina Nehwal felicitates Malleshwaram’s former international player Mr.BS Gautam as Malleshwaram MLA Dr. Ashwathanarayan looks on

Bengaluru, 29th January 2017:  St Joseph’s College of Commerce women and MSRIT men have emerged victorious in the 1st Malleshwaram Cup Inter-College Invitational Floodlight Basketball Championship for Men and Women that concluded a short while ago.

BMS College of Engineering women and PESIT College men have finished in third place.

Kaif Zia dunked over 3 bikes to be crowned champion of the Slam Dunk Contest of the 1st Malleshwaram Cup. He received his trophy from Ms. Saina Nehwal and Malleshwaram MLA Dr. Ashwathanarayan

Jayanagar Sports Club’s Kaif Zia won the special Slam Dunk contest that was held before the men’s finals, beating two other contestants.

The Championship was held at the Bharath Sports Union courts, Malleshwaram grounds and organised by Dr CN Ashwathnarayan Foundation in association with Atsiy! Sports and Malleshwaram’s three iconic clubs YMMA, Beagles and Bharath Sports Union.

Prize Distribution Ceremony & Individual Honours

Badminton ace Ms Saina Nehwal, the Olympic bronze medalist, and Shri K Govindaraj, President of the Basketball Federation of India were the chief guests for the finale. The total prize money awarded was Rs 1,00,000/- (for all the 3 winning men and women teams combined), Rs 10,000/- for the winner of the 1st Slam Dunk contest (held on 24th Jan) and Rs. 5000/- for the 2nd Slam Dunk contest.

BFI President Sri K Govindaraj also announced a special cash prize of Rs. 5000/- to Akshay Jadhav of St. Joseph’s College of Commerce.

‘Pride of Malleshwaram’ Felicitations

The organisers also fittingly chose the finale to honour the contributions of the former international legends and other important contributors from Malleshwaram’s four iconic clubs of Young Men’s Mandyam Association, Beagles, Bharath Sports Union and Young Pioneers Sports Club.

The following eminent persons were felicitated:

  • Special mentions for being Ambassadors of their respective clubs: Smt MA Shakuntala (YMMA/YWCA club), Sri MJ Ramanujam (Bharath Sports Union), Sri K Raghunath (Beagles) and Sri RT Viswanath (Young Pioneers Club)
  • International players: S Narasimharajan, R Jairaj, MA Parthasarathy, MS Selvakumar, G Dilip, SV Ganesh, Ravi Raju Chinnaswamy, BS Gautham, Dr Aravind R Sosale, Revanna, Dr S Shyamsundar, S Murali and Rakesh Gowda.

Sri K Govindaraj and Ms Saina Nehwal too were felicitated by the organisers, for their immense contributions to the sport of basketball and badminton, respectively.

Individual Honours

  • Most valuable players: Women– Raima (SJCC), Men– Akshay Jadhav (SJCC)
  • Most promising players: Women– Chandana (Sindhi), Men: Pramod (BMSCE)
  • Scoring champs: Women– Sonali Gautam (RVCE), Men: Akhil Ubhayankar (SJCC)
  • Best offensive players: Women– Gomedha (Mount Carmel College), Men: Sowkin Shetty (MSRIT)
  • Best defensive players: Women– Chandramuki (SJCC), Men: Shoeb (MSRIT)

Women’s Finals: SJCC bt RVCE 64-44

SJCC women beat RVCE 64-44 to take home the championship at the inaugural Malleshwaram Cup.

St Joseph’s College of Commerce played a perfect team game to beat RV College of Engineering and emerge victorious. The first quarter stayed very close, with both teams matching each other shot for shot.  The bulk of RVCE’s initial scoring was done by Anusha G and Sonali Gautam, while Raima started off strong for SJCC. At the end of the first quarter, SJCC led 20-18.

As they say, offence may win games, but defence wins championships. For SJCC, led by centre Shanice, their defence clamped down in the second quarter, as it conceded just 8 points to go into halftime with a 12 point lead, 38-26.

In the third quarter, SJCC kept up its momentum on both ends of the floor as its lead swelled to 60-38. The experience of its two Karnataka state players Chahana Suresh and Shweta Naidu came in handy as the side was able to execute perfectly without giving in to finale nerves. For RVCE, its lone Karnataka player Sonali Gautam fought hard but her individual effort was clearly overshadowed by SJCC’s Raima, Shanice and Shwetha who all finished with double digits scoring.

Men’s Finals: MSRIT bt SJCC 69-63

MSRIT men beat SJCC 69-63 to be crowned champions of the inaugural Malleshwaram Cup.

In a nail biting game worthy of being a finale, MS Ramaiah Institute of Technology beat St Joseph’s College of Commerce 69-63. The see-saw battle saw both teams making runs at different stages of the match before MSRIT’s excellent late game composure saw them close out the win.

The teams had taken contrasting routes to the finals. While St Joseph’s had cruised through, MSRIT had had to fight off challenges from multiple opponents right from the league stages. On this most crucial juncture, MSRIT’s past experiences held them in good stead as multiple players stepped up to the plate. 6ft 6 in Karnataka centre Sowkin Shetty was a sizeable presence in the paint, altering shots and shutting down SJCC’s top scorer Akhil Ubhayankar. Ubhayankar, who otherwise has been scoring in the high double digits, was tonight restricted to just 8 points.

With Ubhayankar restricted, SJCC’s point guard Akshay Jadhav played spectacularly in scoring 26 points, not to mention leading his side right till the very end. But given a choice, Jadhav would have gladly traded his eventual most valuable player award for the champions’ trophy. However, that honour went to MSRIT, who are now the first ever winners of the Malleshwaram Cup.

Finals Results


  1. MS Ramaiah Institute of Technology (Sowkin Shetty 22, Melver Lobo 16, Kaustabha 11, Suhaib S 11) bt St Joseph’s College of Commerce (Akshay Jadhav 26, Rohan Raj 15, Akhil Ubhayankar 8, Siddharth Reddy 8) 69-63 [11-13, 27-23, 14-12, 17-15]


  1. St Joseph’s College of Commerce (Raima 20, Shanice 15, Shwetha 12) bt RV College of Engineering (Sonali Gautam 17, Anusha G 10) 64-44 [20-18, 18-8, 22-12, 4-6]

3rd-4th Place Matches


  1. BMS College of Engineering (Devayani 21, Arnica 9, Sriparna 5, Keerthana 5) bt Mount Carmel College (Gomedha 23, Mariam 11) 43-42 [13-6, 4-11, 13-11, 13-14]


  1. PESIT (Akshat 20, Arvind 18, Sriram 8) bt BMS College of Engineering (Ajit 9, Kailash 8, Sriram 5) 61-33 [22-9, 9-14, 25-7, 5-3]

Remaining Semifinal Results from Day 5 (28th Jan)


  1. MS Ramaiah Institute of Technology (Melver Lobo 17, Sowkin Shetty 12, Anmol 10) bt BMS College of Engineering (Ajit 8, Kailash 7, Rakshit 7, Sriram 7) 58-46 [22-10, 12-9, 15-15, 9-12]


  1. St Joseph’s College of Commerce (Chandramuki Amaresh 19, Raima Johnson 13, Mercy Wilson 8) bt Mount Carmel College (Gomedha HV 13) 59-30 [10-7, 19-4, 22-11, 8-8]

To stay up to date with the latest happenings around basketball in India, make sure to visit us daily or follow Ekalavyas on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply