Bengaluru, 24th January 2017:  The 1st Malleshwaram Cup Inter-College Invitational Floodlight Basketball Championship for Men and Women has tipped off in the city. 

The Championship is being held at the Bharath Sports Union courts, Malleshwaram grounds and being organised by Dr CN Ashwathnarayan Foundation in association with Atsiy! Sports and Malleshwaram’s three iconic clubs YMMA, Beagles and Bharath Sports Union.

Shri HV Gajaraj Felicitated

Shri HV Gajaraj is felicitated by Dr CN Ashwathnarayan

The organizers also used the occasion of the inauguration function to befittingly felicitate Shri HV Gajaraj, the Managing Director and Founder of M/s. Hercules Sport Pvt. Ltd., a company he founded over 4 decades ago, which manufactures quality sports & fitness equipment. In the basketball space alone, Hercules introduced Rollable & Foldable Indoor Basketball Equipment & Electronic game clock time/score boards for the first time in India back in 1997.

Till date, Hercules has created a record, by supplying more than 3000 pieces of basketball equipment across India and has received numerous accolades and international acclaim for its professional work.

Mr Gajaraj was felicitated by Dr. CN Ashwathnarayan (MLA, Malleshwaram Constituency) with a citation highlighting his accomplishments, along with a basketball trophy.

Roby Thomas wins Dunk Contest

Roby Thomas of Vijaya Bank wins the dunk contest

In by far the most exciting event of the day, Vijaya Bank’s Roby Thomas won the Slam Dunk contest and a cash prize of Rs 10,000/-. There were 9 dunkers in the fray who competed over two initial rounds, who were whittled down to 4 in the final round.

Roby, Sunil, Vijay and Shashi were the four dunkers through to the final round.

Roby aced all his dunks in the very first attempt, notably a two ball dunk in round 1 as well as a dunk over two stationary bikes in the finale round. Shashi of ASC gave him a close fight, with dunks that included one over a scooty and a baseline sledgehammer. Roby ended with 147 total points to emerge the winner.

The 5 member jury comprised eminent former India internationals BS Gautham, Jayvanti Sriram, Olympian G Dilip and Ravi Raju and current international Arvind Arumugam.

BMS College and MSRIT Men win late night games

BMS College showed nerves of steel to hold on for the 47-45 win over Sindhi College. The teams were tied at the end of the first and second quarters before BMS pulled ahead by 5 points in the penultimate period. Sindhi College came surging back though, led by Abhishek’s 19 pts, but they ended up falling one possession short of taking the game into overtime.

In the final match of the evening that tipped off at around 11 pm, MSRIT enjoyed a 9 point scoring differential over Presidency College that ultimately proved to be decisive in the 10 point win. Just like the BMS vs Sindhi College game before them, the teams were tied in scoring in each of the first two periods. MSRIT centre Sowkin Shetty, who has also represented Karnataka on its senior team, was dominant down low against his shorter opponents. Sowkin had a rousing breakaway dunk that regaled his college mates many of whom were in the stands, vociferously showing their support. For Presidency College, local Malleshwaram boy Pranay Naidu fought valiantly with his 20 points —which included back to back threes late in the fourth quarter — that threatened to make a match of it. However, in the end MSRIT sailed through with a 10 point win, 64-54.

St Joseph’s College of Commerce bt RV College Men

RVCE (blue) make a play against St Joseph’s College of Commerce

St Joseph’s College came from behind to beat the talented RV College of Engineering, 81-58. St Joseph’s trailed 8-15 at the end of the first quarter before elevating their game drastically over the remaining 30 minutes. Akhil Ubhayankar of St Joseph’s was in scorching shooting touch as he blazed away to 33 points. RV College had themselves to blame as they allowed their opponents to score a ridiculously high 40 points in the third quarter alone.

PESIT, St Joseph’s and RV College open with wins

The opening day’s matches saw three teams posting easy wins. In the first men’s match, PESIT College overpowered St Joseph’s Pre-University team. The college boys proved too strong for the young PU side which gave away too many defensive rebounds and were also sorely lacking in their transition defence. Led by Sriram’s 23 points, PESIT built up an 18-1 first quarter lead that ballooned to 38-12 at halftime. The lone bright spot for SJPUC was the aggression and fearlessness of centre Akshay, who managed to hold his own in the paint for 12 points.

Anusha of RV College of Engineering attempts a layup on the break against Mount Carmel College

In the two women’s matches played simultaneously on the twin courts of Bharath Sports Union, St Joseph’s Commerce College and RV College proved victorious. St Joseph’s took on BMS College in what started off to be a low scoring yet close first quarter. BMS led 5-4 going into the second frame before St Joseph’s offense started firing on all cylinders. SJCC’s Raima in particular excelled in the middle quarters, scoring all of her 19 points in Q2 and Q3, to help her side to an unassailable 49-20 lead going into the fourth quarter. BMS tried its best to breach St Joseph’s citadel, but the Commerce College girls’ defence proved too resolute. In the final period, BMS could manage just two points, as St Joseph’s posted the 62-22 win.

The second women’s game between RV College and Mount Carmel College too proved to be a mismatch, as RV led pretty much from start to finish. It was a sloppy game by both teams, but RV College showed relatively superior precision in their cuts to the rim. MCC turned the ball over repeatedly and never managed a quarter where they could score more than 4 points. The low scoring encounter had RV leading 13-4 at the end of the first quarter, and they needed to score just 13 more points over the remaining three periods to seal the 26-11 win.

Day 1 Results (24th Jan)

(After 7 pm)


  1. St Joseph’s College of Commerce (Akhil Ubhayankar 33, Rohan Raj 14, Akshay MJ 13) bt RV College of Engineering (Tushar G 16, Sachin M 15, Ashish 10) 81-58 [8-15, 21-13, 40-17, 12-13]
  2. BMS College of Engineering (Pramod 15, Ajit 12) bt Sindhi College (Abhishek 19, Rohith 13) 47-45 [7-7, 8-8, 18-13, 14-17]
  3. MS Ramaiah Institute of Technology (Anmol 22, Sowkin 19, Melver 11) bt Presidency College (Pranay Naidu 20, Bharath 8, Harish 8) 64-54 [12-12, 17-17, 15-6, 18-19]

(Till 7 pm)


  1. PESIT College (Sriram 23, Anish 8) bt St Joseph’s PU College (Akshay 12) 52-27 [18-1, 20-11, 8-8, 6-7]


  1. Joseph’s Commerce College (Raima 19, Shwetha 11, Chahana 9, Shanice 8) bt BMS College of Engineering (Sindhu 6, Sriparna 4) 62-22 [4-5, 20-10, 25-5, 13-2]
  2. RV College of Engineering (Sahana 7, Sonali 7) bt Mount Carmel College (Hrishitha 3) 26-11 [13-4, 6-3, 5-0, 2-4]

To stay up to date with the most recent action from the Malleshwaram Cup, make sure to visit us daily or follow Ekalavyas on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply