• In a press release issued on the 17th of January, the KSBBA announced the dates for the final leg of KBL, Mathru Cup and Referee Exams.
  • The finals of the Mathru Cup and KBL are set to take played on the 29th of this month while the Referee exams are set to be conducted on 11th February.

Bengaluru, 17th January 2017: The Karnataka State Basketball Association will be organizing the State Women’s League for the Mathru Cup and the final leg of the inaugural Karnataka Basketball League at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium basketball courts in the last week of this month.

The Mathru Cup is scheduled to start on January 25, 2017 with 18 teams likely to be in the fray. The KBL final leg is billed for a January 27, 2017 start. Both finals are likely to be played on January 29, 2017.

The winners of the Mathru Cup will receive a cheque of Rs 1.00 lakh, the runners-up Rs 50,000 and the third placed team Rs 25,000.

DYES (Mandya), DYES (Mysore), South Western Railway (Mysore), Alva’s (Moodabidri), DYES (Vijayapura), DYES (Vidyanagar), Jayanagar SC, Mounts Club, NGV, Beagles BC, City Jumpball Club, Indiranagar BC, Appaiah BC, Ulsoor, Rajmahal, Vimanapura, VNS and Merchants (Davangere) will battle it out for supremacy.

Final leg of the KBL
Karnataka Basketball League Hassan division winners

File photo: Karnataka Basketball League Hassan division winners Hosayala BC defeated Mangalore 71-65 to qualify for the final leg of the KBL. Image credits: Karnataka Basketball Association

The final leg of the inaugural Karnataka Basketball League will be held at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium basketball courts from January 27 to 29, 2017.  Eight teams will battle it out with the top two playing the final. The winners will receive a cheque of Rs 2.00 lakh and the runners-up Rs1 lakh.

In the first leg at Hassan, Hoysala BC, Hassan, and Mangalore BC, Mangalore, qualified for the final leg taking the top two spots. Hoysala defeated Mangalore 71-65 in the final.

In the second leg at Bijapur, Rovers BC, Dharwad, and SAI, Dharwad, came through. In the final, Rovers defeated SAI 66-61.

In the third leg at Nanjungud, Raising Star, Mysore, and VBC, Mandya, made the grade. In the final, Raising Star downed VBC 70-35.

The six teams are joined by the winners and runners-up of the state C division league. Ulsoor SC are the winners

As VBC, Mandya, were the runners-up but qualified from the Nanjungud leg, the third and fourth placed teams, City Jumpball Club and Viveks were involved in a play-off match to decide the second spot.  Viveks won the match and joined Ulsoor SC and the other six qualifiers in the final rounds.

Basketball Referees’ Exams

The Karnataka State Basketball Association will be conducting the basketball referees’ entrance exams on February 11, 2017 in Bangalore. A refresher course will be conducted on January 28, 2017. This is for the information of candidates who have applied to appear for the examination. Others who are interested may also contact the KSBBA and enrol themselves. Mob. Nos.  9449050667/9886382349, 9980025795.

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply