KSBBA, squads, Karnataka

5th January 2017: A press release by the Karnataka State Basketball Association (KSBBA) announced the men’s and the women’s squad selected to represent the state at the 67th Senior National Basketball Championship scheduled to be held in Puducherry from January 7 to 14, 2017.

A Aravind will lead the men’s team and M K Bhandavya is the captain of the women’s team. The KSBBA also announced cash awards of Rs 5.00 lakhs, Rs 3.00 lakhs and Rs 1.5 lakhs to the Karnataka teams placing first, second or third respectively.

The squads are as follows:

Aravind A (Capt), Anil Kumar B K, Rajesh Uppar, Navin Raj, Karthick Eyan (all Vijaya Bank), C. Sridhar, K. Bernatsha, Ravichandra, Jinu Thomas, (all MEG), Guruprasad Nayak (VBC, Mandya), Mufeez Ahmed (DYES), Varinder Singh (ASC).
Coach: Thankachan M C (MEG). Manager: Srinivas Gowda (Vijaya Bank).

M K Bhandavya (Capt), Supritha, Yashashwini (all Alva’s, Moodabidri), Priyanka, Bhoomika, Anusha (all DYES, Vidyanagar), Greeshma (Rajmahal), Ujjaini (Beagles), Sarayu (JSC), Gomedha (Mounts Club),  Kavana, Supriya M S (both DYES, Mysore) .
Coach: Mr Mohan Kumar J E. Asst Coach: Mr Girish. Manager: Mr H. Prabhu Dev.

About Karnataka Basketball

In the erstwhile state of Mysore now Karnataka, basketball was introduced by Y.M.C.A. in 1920s, Y.M.C.A. has played a vital role not only in spreading the message of sports in Bengaluru but also developing organized system to promote sports in Bengaluru. Mr. A.C. Das, Director of Physical Education and general secretary Y.M.C.A. took up the primary responsibility. In 1930s, he began his crusade to attract people towards basketball in big numbers through planned organization. The title “Father of organized Sports in Mysore State” rightly stands in the name of this illustrious leader because of his concern, involvement and dedication towards sports and games.

Basketball in Karnataka achieved new heights in the year 2014, because for the first time in its history the state men’s team participated in a six-nation international basketball tournament along with teams from Australia, Philippines, Singapore, Chinese Taipei & hosts Malaysia, for the Chief Minister’s trophy at Penang, Malaysia.

For more details visit: http://www.basketballfederationindia.org/index.php/2-uncategorised/144-basketball-in-karnataka

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply