• Hindustan University wins silver followed by M. G. University at 3rd place and Kannur University at 4th
  • The tournament was played during 25th-28th December, 2016.

Winners: Calicut University;  Image Credits: Kerala Basketball Association

Bhubaneswar, 29th December 2016: Defending champions Calicut University defeated Hindustan University, Chennai by the score of 70-59 to retain the title of the All India Inter University Women’s Basketball tournament at the KIIT Bhubaneswar University stadium in Odisha.

The victory was sweet revenge for Calicut University as they previously lost to Hindustan University last month in the South zone qualifier at Calicut. Calicut led comfortably throughout the game with the score line reading 32-20 at the half. The scoring load was carried by Ms. Aswathy S Thampi (22 points) followed by Ms. Nimmy George (16 points) and Ms. Athulya N (15 points) who also controlled the tempo of the game to ensure her team’s victory. The team was coached by Mr. P C Antony – former coach of Kerala State Sports Council and was assisted by another coach from the State Sports Council Mr. Siji Jose and managed by Mr. Thushara from St Joseph’s College, Irinjalakuda.

Earlier in the semi final, Calicut had an easy win over Kannur University with the score 68-26. After trailing 26-50, M. G. University fought hard but their comeback fell short and they went down to Hindustan University, Chennai 65-70 thereby propelling the latter to the final.

During the quarter final round matches, Calicut defeated LNIPE, Gwalior 64-45; Kannur beat Punjab University 55-41; Hindustan University beat Nagpur University 67-43; and M G University beat Uthkal University 41-23.

The detailed results of the tournament are as follows:


Calicut University 70 (Aswathy S Thampy 22, Nimmy George 16, Athulya N 15) bt Hindustan University 59 (Varsha Nandhini 23, Srivihya S Sekhar 17, Hemalatha12)

Bronze medal

M G University 66 (Nimmy Mathew 20, Kavitha Jose 16) bt Kannur University 41(Sanika Saju 10)

Semi Final

Calicut University 68 (Aswathy S Thampy 22) bt Kannur University 26 (Sanika Saju 10)

Hindustan University 70 (Varsha Nandhini 23, Srivihya S Sekhar 17) bt M G University 65 (Kavitha Jose 22)

Quarter Finals

Hindustan University 67 (Varshanandini 18, Hemalatha 10) bt Nagpur University 43

M G University 41 (Kavitha 15, Nimmy Mathew 11) bt Utkal University 23

Kannur University 55 (Sanika Saju 23, Minnu Renny 11) bt Punjab University 41

Calicut University 64 (Athulya N 20, Aswathy S Thampy 10) bt LNIPE University 45

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply