Manjeri, 22nd November, 2016: The 61st Kerala State Basketball Championship, which is being organized by the Kerala Basketball Association, under the auspices of Malapuram District Basketball Association, at the Govt. Boys Higher Secondary School Basketball Stadium, Manjeri, from 22nd to 27th November 2016, was inaugurated by former State and University captain Dr Varkey Tharakan.

The function was presided over by K Manohara Kumar, the President of the Kerala Basketball Association.

Opening ceremony at the 61st Kerala State Basketball Championship

Opening ceremony at the 61st Kerala State Basketball Championship

It will be a prelude to the Senior National Basketball Championship, that is slated to be held in Pondicherry. Players who will represent Kerala at the Senior Nationals will be selected on the basis of their performance in the State Championship.

Teams from 14 districts of the state will vie for the honors in Men section, while 12 districts will battle it out for the Womens title. This 6 day Championship will features 47 matches from morning (6am) till evening (3 pm) onwards. The tournament will be played on a league cum Knock out Basis.

A ‘Referee’s Clinic’ and Test will be set up to familiarise the players with the newly implemented laws for the championship. International Referee Fr. Philips Vadakeekalam, Chairman of Technical Commission (Kerala) will lead the clinic .

Ernakulum and Trivandrum are the defending champions.


Group A – Ernakulum, Kottayam, Trissur and Kasargod

Group B – Trivandrum, Pathanamthitta, Alapuzha and Kozhikode

Group C – Kollam, Kannur and Wayanad

Group D – Malapuram, Palakkad and Idukki


Group A – Trivandrum, Kannur and Malapuram

Group B –  Ernakulum, Palakkad and Kollam

Group C – Alapuzha, Kasargod and Thrissur

Group D – Kozhikode, Kottayam and Wayanad

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply