New Delhi/Bengaluru, 15th November, 2016: The Indian U18 women’s team has lost its third league game, vs Chinese Taipei, at the 23rd FIBA Asia U18 Championship for Women in Bangkok, Thailand. The side is now 0-3 and faces South Korea tomorrow (15th November, 3:30 pm IST) in its penultimate Group A match.

All matches are being streamed live on FIBA’s YouTube channel.

India lose to Chinese Taipei 80-46

Nishanti Masilamani is surrounded by Taipei players. Image credit- FIBA.

Nishanti Masilamani is surrounded by Taipei players. Image credit- FIBA.

Unlike yesterday when India was up against the much taller China, this time around, the two teams were evenly matched in terms of size. India led early (7-6) before Taipei’s defence clamped down allowing them to go on an 18-2 run to close the first quarter with a 24-9 lead.

In the second quarter, Taipei continued to force India into sideline and baseline traps resulting in multiple turnovers. At halftime the score read 41-13 in favour of Taipei.

Led by the small forward-shooting guard duo of Anusha Parapalli and Priyanka Prabhakara, who between them had 11 offensive rebounds, India finally showed some much needed scoring in the third quarter, winning the period 22-12.

In the final 10 minutes, Taipei regrouped and snuffed out any chances India may have harboured of continuing its comeback, to seal the 80-46 win.

Chinese Taipei (Meng-Hsin Chen 17 pts, Yu-Lin Kao 14 pts, J Wang 14 pts) bt India (Bhandavya HM 10 pts, Priyanka Prabhakara 8 pts & 13 reb, Nishanti Masilamani 9 pts) 80-46 [24-9, 17-4, 12-22, 27-11]

India’s Upcoming Schedule [Timings in IST]

All games are being streamed live on FIBA’s YouTube channel:

vs South Korea – 16th November, 3:30 PM

vs Japan – 17th November, 3:30 PM

Rest Day – 18th November

Knockout and Placement Rounds – 19th and 20th November

For more details see:

About the 23rd FIBA U18 Asia Championship 2016

The 23rd FIBA U18 Asia Championship 2016 is taking place in Bangkok, Thailand, from the 13th to the 20th of November.

The top 3 teams will represent Asia at the 2017 FIBA U19 Women’s World Championship in Cairo, Egypt.


The 12-team event has been split into two levels: upper Level 1 (or Group A) and lower level 2 (Group B):

Level 1 (Group A) Teams: China, Japan, Korea, Chinese Taipei, India and hosts Thailand

Level 2 (Group B) Teams: Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Sri Lanka and Indonesia

This is a league cum knockout format. The group phase of the tournament will be played in a round-robin format, with each team playing every other team in their group.  The top four teams from Group A progress to the semifinals, while the bottom two Group A teams will play relegation matches with the top two teams from Group B.

For more information:

Championship History

The FIBA U18 Asia Championship was first instituted in 1970 and the inaugural edition of the tournament took place in Seoul, South Korea. Coming into this 23rd edition, China and Japan are the three time defending champions and first runners up respectively.

India’s Past Record

Prior to the upcoming 23rd edition, India has participated in the tournament 13 times and has also hosted it once (New Delhi, 2000). India’s best performance at the event came in 1980 when it was placed 4th.

Thereafter the side went into a bit of a lull, getting relegated to lower Level 2 by the end of the 2008 edition. In 2012, the team climbed back into upper Level 1 where it has continued to compete till date.

India will be looking improve upon its 6th place finish in the last edition of the championship (in 2014).

Indian Squad

The team is being captained by the talented Bhandavya HM (who had already debuted on the senior team last year) and coached by the seasoned Shiba Maggon, a former India Women’s Captain.

Indian Squad for the 23rd FIBA U18 Women’s Championship 2016

Family Name(s)

/Last Name

First Name(s)

/Given Name

Date of Birth
Place of Birth Height
(ft and inches)
Weight (Kg) Position
City State
07 Prabhakara Priyanka 03/10/1998 Nemmara Kerala 177 (5’ 9’’) 54 SG
10 Verma Riya 08/01/1998 Bhilai Chhattisgarh 162 (5’ 3’’) 54 SG
14 Masilamani Nishanti 14/10/1999 Chennai Tamil Nadu 168 (5’ 6’’) 50 PG
15 Sandhu Aakarshan 02/03/1999 Chandigarh Chandigarh 183 (6’) 78 C
20 Pandey Sakshi 30/04/1998 Jabalpur Madhya Pradesh 175 (5’ 8’’) 51 SG
23 Menezes Carina Clarence 27/11/1998 Thane Mumbai 175 (5’ 8’’) 58 SF
27 Hemmige Mahesha Bhandavya 18/04/1998 Mandya Karnataka 166 (5’ 5’’) 56 SG
29 Chakravortty Sushantika 24/08/2000 Delhi Delhi 180 (5’ 10’’) 72 PF
54 George Nimmi 01/04/1998 Chalakudy Kerala 183 (6’) 60 C
75 Illath Parappali Anusha 14/03/1998 Kozhikode Kerala 173 (5’ 8’’) 53 SF
86 Ali Gulabsha 15/02/2000 Bhilai Chhattisgarh 165 (5’ 4’’) 64 PG
99 Suren Srishti 30/04/2000 Chennai Tamil Nadu 180 (5’ 10’’) 59 PF

*PG – Point Guard / Feeder, G – Guard, F – Forward, G/F – Wing, PF – Power Forward, C – Centre, PF/C – Post

13) Team Manager: Mr. Jugraj Singh Baidwan

14) Physio: Dr. Prachi Bipin Shah

15) Head Coach: Ms. Shiba Maggon

16) Assistant Coach: Mr. Kalva Rajeshaver Rao

17) Referee Supervisor: Mr. Naresh Chander Aneja

18) Referee: Ms. Snehal Vidyadhar Bendke

19) Referee: Mr. Amarjot Singh Mavi

Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply