Bengaluru, 25th October, 2016: The Karnataka State Youth Championship 2016 concluded here at the Sree Kanteerava courts on the 25th of October.


YMMA 95 (Vishal 36, Prashant 25) bt Bharath SU 72 (Akshay 33, Nakul 19) [HT 51-37]


Alvas Moodabidri 37 (Harshitha 16) bt DYES, Vidyanagar 35 (Harshitha 12) [HT 20-17]

Third-Place Game

VNSC 50 (Vignesh 14) bt Viveks SC 34 (Preetam 10) [HT 23-22]


Beagles BC 44 (Sanjana 21) bt DYES, Mandya 32 (Janani 12) [HT 21-9]


YMMA 62 (Vishal 22) bt Viveks SC 25 (Preetham 11) [HT 34-8]

Bharath SU 56 (Akshay 21) bt VNSC 37 (Vishal 9) [HT 36-20]


Alvas 29 (Keerthana 18) bt Beagles BC 28 (Sanjana 9) [HT 8-15]

DYES Vidyanagar 62 (Harshitha 15) bt DYES Mandya 27 (Charumathi 12) [HT 24-16]

About Karnataka Basketball

The official recognition to the game of basketball was given in the year 1934 by the Indian Olympic Association. This gave a fillip to the game, and the first National basketball Championship was organized in 1934 by the Indian Olympic Association.

Basketball was introduced to the Mysore State by Y.M.C.A. in 1920s. The Y.M.C.A. has played a vital role not only in spreading the message of sports in Bengaluru, but also developing organized system to promote sports. Mr. A.C. Das, Director of Physical Education and General Secretary Y.M.C.A. took up the primary responsibility. The Mysore State team did not participate in the first National Basketball Championship conducted by the Indian Olympic Association that was held at Delhi. It was in 1936 for the first time Mysore state basketball team was selected and fielded by A.C. Das at Lahore National Championship.

Captain M.G. Vijayasarathy, a product of Y.M.C.A. Chennai was another officer who rendered a great service in popularizing the game in the state. He was like a fatherly figure in the field of Mysore State sports and was responsible for promoting basketball along with his friends and colleagues in Colleges and other Institutions.

Basketball in Karnataka achieved new heights in the year 2014, because for the first time in its history, the state men’s team participated in a six nation International Basketball Tournament along with teams from Australia, Philippines, Singapore, Taipei and hosts Malaysia, for The Chief Ministers trophy at Penang, Malaysia.

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply