Bengaluru, 23rd October, 2016: The Karnataka State Youth Championship completed its penultimate phase here at the Kanteerava Courts on the 23rd of October.

Pre-Quarter Finals Games (21st October)

VBC, Mandya 45 (Srujan 18) bt JSC 32 (Dheeraj 12) [HT 18-15]

Bharath SU 58 (Akshay 15) bt IBBC 35 (Dheeraj 11) [HT 38-25]

VNSC 60 (Vishal 15) bt Creative BC 17 (Karthik 8) [HT 30-02]

Viveks SC 53 (Preetham 26) bt Pattabhiram BC 27 (Abhay 9) [HT 28-17]

Beagles BC 58 (Sarthak 26) bt NGV BC 44 (Rajat 19) [HT 39-23]


DYES, Vidyanagar 32 (Harshitha 19) bt IBBC 22 (Diya 12) [HT 16-14]

DYES, Mandya 35 (Harini 17) bt Appaiah BC 30 (Simritha 14) [HT 12-15]

DYES, Vijayapura 43 (Saliya 17) bt Mounts Club 38 (Abigail 13) [HT 14-18]

Beagles BC 39 (Sanjana 14) bt Merchants Davangere 10 [HT 26-3]

Quarter-Finals Games (22nd October)

VNSC 57 (Vignesh 20) bt Beagles BC 55 (Shreyas 13) [HT 22-21]

Bharath SU 45 (Akshay 14) bt VBC Mandya 33 (Shashidhar 11) [HT 17-25]

YMMA 73 (Vishal 15) bt Appaiah BC 34 (Chaitanya 16) [HT 39-11]

Viveks SC 68 (Preetam 26) bt BCBC 45 (Akshan 21) [HT 33-22]


DYES, Vidyanagar 34 (Aishwarya 13) bt CJC 24 (Rajvi 8) [HT 15-11]

DYES, Mandya 34 (Charumathi 9) bt Rajmahal BC 27 (Grishma 10) [HT 15-19]

Alvas Moodabidri 40 (Harshitha 21) bt DYES, Vijayapura 31 (Saliya 13) [HT 20-17]

Semi-Finals Games (23rd October)

Bharath SU 62 (Akshay 31) bt Viveks SC 29 (Pattu 12) [HT 32-16]

YMMA 69 (Prashant 23) bt VNSC 49 (Vishal 14) [HT 37-31]


Alvas Moodabidri 38 (Nisarga 16) bt DYES, Mandya 22 (Rakshitha 12) [HT 19-11]

DYES, Vidyanagar 31 (Harshitha 11) bt Beagles BC 18 (Sanjana 10) [HT 18-6]

About Karnataka Basketball

The official recognition to the game of basketball was given in the year 1934 by the Indian Olympic Association. This gave a fillip to the game, and the first National basketball Championship was organized in 1934 by the Indian Olympic Association.

Basketball was introduced to the Mysore State by Y.M.C.A. in 1920s. The Y.M.C.A. has played a vital role not only in spreading the message of sports in Bengaluru, but also developing organized system to promote sports. Mr. A.C. Das, Director of Physical Education and General Secretary Y.M.C.A. took up the primary responsibility. The Mysore State team did not participate in the first National Basketball Championship conducted by the Indian Olympic Association that was held at Delhi. It was in 1936 for the first time Mysore state basketball team was selected and fielded by A.C. Das at Lahore National Championship.

Captain M.G. Vijayasarathy, a product of Y.M.C.A. Chennai was another officer who rendered a great service in popularizing the game in the state. He was like a fatherly figure in the field of Mysore State sports and was responsible for promoting basketball along with his friends and colleagues in Colleges and other Institutions.

Basketball in Karnataka achieved new heights in the year 2014, because for the first time in its history, the state men’s team participated in a six nation International Basketball Tournament along with teams from Australia, Philippines, Singapore, Taipei and hosts Malaysia, for The Chief Ministers trophy at Penang, Malaysia.

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply