Bengaluru, 1st October, 2016: The Karnataka Squad which will participate in the 43rd Sub Junior National Basketball Championship which is being held in Hyderabad from the 1st to the 7th of October, is as given below.

  1. Achintya (Captain)
  2. Kalyan
  3. Himanshu (All Beagles)
  4. Shiva
  5. Sai Prakash (YMMA)
  6. Varun (MCHS)
  7. Ayush (Viveks)
  8. Gaurav (Bharath)
  9. Rohan
  10. Ankush (Vimanapura)
  11. Ashwij (Appaiah)
  12. Aryan (VNS)

Coach – Pramod S K

Manager – SS Patil

  1. Janani (Captain)
  2. Harini
  3. Divya (DYES Mandya)
  4. Jaistnavi
  5. Aishwarya (DYES Bijapur)
  6. Simran
  7. Diya (Mounts)
  8. Trisha
  9. Shristi (Beagles)
  10. Ananya (IBBC)
  11. Aishwarya (Rajmahal)
  12. Shreya (Merchants)

Coach – Sanjay Akashi

Manager – Kanya Kumari

About Karnataka Basketball

The official recognition to the game of basketball was given in the year 1934 by the Indian Olympic Association. This gave a fillip to the game, and the first National basketball Championship was organized in 1934 by the Indian Olympic Association.

Basketball was introduced to the Mysore State by Y.M.C.A. in 1920s. The Y.M.C.A. has played a vital role not only in spreading the message of sports in Bengaluru, but also developing organized system to promote sports. Mr. A.C. Das, Director of Physical Education and General Secretary Y.M.C.A. took up the primary responsibility. The Mysore State team did not participate in the first National Basketball Championship conducted by the Indian Olympic Association that was held at Delhi. It was in 1936 for the first time Mysore state basketball team was selected and fielded by A.C. Das at Lahore National Championship.

Captain M.G. Vijayasarathy, a product of Y.M.C.A. Chennai was another officer who rendered a great service in popularizing the game in the state. He was like a fatherly figure in the field of Mysore State sports and was responsible for promoting basketball along with his friends and colleagues in Colleges and other Institutions.

Basketball in Karnataka achieved new heights in the year 2014, because for the first time in its history, the state men’s team participated in a six nation International Basketball Tournament along with teams from Australia, Philippines, Singapore, Taipei and hosts Malaysia, for The Chief Ministers trophy at Penang, Malaysia.

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply