Bengaluru, 19th August, 2016: In a first of its kind, a basketball league has been organized by the Karnataka State Basketball Association. Eight teams from three districts will participate in the league. The districts will play host to the initial stages, while the final leg will be played in Bengaluru at a later date. These eight teams are to be divided into 2 groups of 4 each.

The top 2 teams of each of the three legs will play in the finals, along with the winners and the runner-up of the C Division Championship League.

40, 000 and 20, 000 are the cash prizes for the Winner and Runner-Up in each leg of the tournament. Referees, players and other pertinent officials are to be given room and board at every location.

According to the Karnataka State Basketball Association, they hope that the league will provide opportunities for players and club to showcase their talents.

The Hasan Leg (August 19-21)
  1. Shimoga
  2. Davangere
  3. Chikmagalur
  4. Hassan
  5. Manipal
  6. Mangalore
  7. Chitradurga
The Bijapur Leg (August 26-28)
  1. Bijapur
  2. Dharwad
  3. Bagalkot
  4. Hospet
  5. Belarry
  6. Gulbarga
The Nanjungud Leg (September 9-11)
  1. Mysore
  2. Mandya
  3. Kolar
Team from the Hasan Leg
  1. Shimoga Youths, Shimoga
  2. Merchants Club, Davangere
  3. Chikmagalur BC, Chikmagalur
  4. Hoysala, Hassan
  5. Manipal BC, Udipi
  6. NITTE
  7. Mangalore BC, Mangalore
  8. Durgans, Chitradurga
Team from the Bijapur Leg
  1. Brother BC, Bijapur
  2. Rovers, Dharwad
  3. SAI, Dharwad
  4. Mallasajana, Dharwad
  5. Bagalkot BC, Bagalkot
  6. Hospet BC, Hospet
  7. YCBC, Bellary
  8. Bhagwan BC, Kalaburgi
Day 1 of the Karnataka Basketball League
  1. K S Hegde Nitte 56 (Gagan 27) bt Omega, Hassan 55 (Avinraj 32) [HT 22-26]
  2. Hoysala, Hassan 48 (Prabhu 11) bt Durgans, Chitradurga 40 (Nihal 11) [HT 29-16]
  3. Merchants , Davangere 56 (Sachin 13, Manjunath 10) bt Omega, Hassan 36 (Avinraj 15, Yogachetan 12) [HT 27-18]
  4. K S Hegde Nitte 41 (Ashrey 11, Gagan 10) bt Chickmagalur BC 20 (Thomson 7) [HT 15-9]
About Karnataka Basketball

The official recognition to the game of basketball was given in the year 1934 by the Indian Olympic Association. This gave a fillip to the game, and the first National basketball Championship was organized in 1934 by the Indian Olympic Association.

Basketball was introduced to the Mysore State by Y.M.C.A. in 1920s. The Y.M.C.A. has played a vital role not only in spreading the message of sports in Bengaluru, but also developing organized system to promote sports. Mr. A.C. Das, Director of Physical Education and General Secretary Y.M.C.A. took up the primary responsibility. The Mysore State team did not participate in the first National Basketball Championship conducted by the Indian Olympic Association that was held at Delhi. It was in 1936 for the first time Mysore state basketball team was selected and fielded by A.C. Das at Lahore National Championship.

Captain M.G. Vijayasarathy, a product of Y.M.C.A. Chennai was another officer who rendered a great service in popularizing the game in the state. He was like a fatherly figure in the field of Mysore State sports and was responsible for promoting basketball along with his friends and colleagues in Colleges and other Institutions.

Basketball in Karnataka achieved New heights in the year 2014, because for the first time in its history, the state men’s team participated in a six nation International Basketball Tournament along with teams from Australia, Philippines, Singapore,Taipei and hosts Malaysia, for The Chief Ministers trophy at Penang, Malaysia.

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply