Koratty, 10th August, 2016: The twin floodlit indoor basketball courts of Little Flower HSS Koratty, along with the MAMHSS basketball courts, will play host to the 33rd edition of the Kerala Youth State Basketball Championship for Boys and Girls at Angamally, on the 12th of August 2016.

The Championship will be organised by Koratty Basketballers with the support of Thrissur District Basketball Association, under the auspicious of Kerala Basketball Association from 12th to 16th August 2016. The Championship will features 14 districts in boys and 13 district in girls division which will be played on a League cum Knock out basis. Efforts are also made to bring the electronic score boards and shot clocks from Thiruvanthapuram. Ernakulum and Thrissur are the defending champions.

Little Flower in recent times has produced international players such as Stephy Nixon, Simi Kavalakkad, Gineeb Benny, Vimmy Varkey and an array of Indian Campers which includes Gokul, India Nelson, Nimmy George, Aswathy S Thampy, Aleena Seby and Aparna Sadasivanand. Eudric Perera, a senior international player also hails from Koratty.

The Little Flower HSS Court, Koratty, will play host to the 33rd Kerala State Youth Basketball Championship

The Little Flower HSS Court, Koratty will play host to the 33rd Kerala State Youth Basketball Championship

This year, Winny Bestine the Physical Education teacher and Coach of Little Flower HSS Koratty was chosen as the Best Physical Education Teacher by the NBA from the 220 Schools that took part in the Jr. NBA Programme. Inspire Youth to Play Basketball, 2015, went to Australia and participated in the NBA’s 15th Edition of Basketball Without Borders which took place from the 23rd to the 26th June 2016.

Referees Clinic at Koratty

Koratty also will witness a referee training clinic on the 13th and 14th of August, 2016. Fr. Philiphs Wadakkaekalam, a former International Referee and Chairman of Referees Commission will take classes for the referees.

The Groupings for the 33rd Kerala State Youth Basketball Championship

Group A – Eranakulum, Idukki, Thrissur, Kannur
Group B – Kottayam, Alapuzha,Thiruvananthapuram, Kozhikode
Group C – Pathanamthitta, Wayanad, Kasargod
Group D – Malapuram, Kollam, Palakkad


Group A -Thrissur, Wayanad, Kannur
Group B -Thiruvananthapuram, Kozhikode, Pathanamthitta
Group C – Kottayam, Idukki, Kollam
Group D – Alapuzha, Eranakulum, Malapuram, Palakkad

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply