Bengaluru, 10th June, 2016: The fourth day of the The M C Srinivasa Memorial Trophy Championship took place at the Kanteerava Courts, here on the 10th of June.

BOSCH and Raising Star Mysore both scored victories by a comfortable margin, while the other two games of the day were more closely fought affairs.

Results on Day 4 of the The M C Srinivasa Memorial Trophy

  1. BOSCH 51 (Vijay 20) bt Kanaka Kolar 32 (Vishwanath 8) [HT 16-17]
  2. Vasanthnagar BC 59 (Binoy 23) bt Bharath SU 54 (Sanjith 8) [HT 25-27]
  3. Rovers Dharwad 58 (Sunil 23) bt Rajkumar BC 48 (Bharath 17) [HT 30-17]
  4. Raising Star Mysore 58 (Supradeep 29) bt BSNL 37 (Manju 12) [HT 39-17]

About Karnataka Basketball

The official recognition to the game of basketball was given in the year 1934 by the Indian Olympic Association. This gave a fillip to the game, and the first National basketball Championship was organized in 1934 by the Indian Olympic Association.

Basketball was introduced to the Mysore State by Y.M.C.A. in 1920s. The Y.M.C.A. has played a vital role not only in spreading the message of sports in Bengaluru, but also developing organized system to promote sports. Mr. A.C. Das, Director of Physical Education and General Secretary Y.M.C.A. took up the primary responsibility. The Mysore State team did not participate in the first National Basketball Championship conducted by the Indian Olympic Association that was held at Delhi. It was in 1936 for the first time Mysore state basketball team was selected and fielded by A.C. Das at Lahore National Championship.

Captain M.G. Vijayasarathy, a product of Y.M.C.A. Chennai was another officer who rendered a great service in popularizing the game in the state. He was like a fatherly figure in the field of Mysore State sports and was responsible for promoting basketball along with his friends and colleagues in Colleges and other Institutions.

Basketball in Karnataka achieved New heights in the year 2014, because for the first time in its history, the state men’s team participated in a six nation International Basketball Tournament along with teams from Australia, Philippines, Singapore,Taipei and hosts Malaysia, for The Chief Ministers trophy at Penang, Malaysia.

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply