Thiruvalla, 25th May, 2016: In an exciting finals, Ernakulum boys and Thiruvananthapuram girls won the 43rd Kerala State Sub Junior Basketball Championship, which was played at Assumption College Indoor Stadium. The alternate location was due to the fact that rain barred play at the Christ Central School, Thiruvalla. In the Girls Final Thiruvananthapuram girls edged out Thrissur, 23-21. Thrissur also had a setback in the boys section, as they lost to Ernakulum (32- 27).

In the girls final, Suleena came up as the top scorer for Thiruvananthapuram with 9 points and Aleena Antony the top scorer for Thrissur, with 7 points.

In the boys final, Ernakulum led 16-12 at half time, and ended up defeating Thrissur (32-27), with Sayan Muhammed leading the scoring tally for Ernakulum, with 10 points.

Thiruvananthapuram girls recieving the trophy at the 43rd Kerala State Sub Junior Basketball Championship

Bronze for Thiruvananthapuram boys and Kottayam Girls

The match for bronze was also an interesting affair as Thiruvananthapuram pipped Kozhikode 53-48, to claim the bronze in boys. The girls from Kottayam took bronze, scraping past Kozhikode by a point (46-45).

D. John M Chacko cash awards for Best Player to Gouri & Sayyan Muhammed

Gouri from Nirmala Bhavan, Thiruvananthpuram and Sayyan Muhhamedfrom, SH CMI Public School, Kochi, received the Best Player cash award of Rs. 2000 each, instituted by Dr. John M Chacko, chief Patron, Kerala Basketball Association.

Sejin Mathew Honoured

Pathanamthitta District Basketball Association honoured Sri Sejin Mathew, who secured the Most Valuable Player award at the Reliance Foundation Jr. NBA Elite National Camp, at NOIDA. The awards were distributed by Dr. Sriram Venkitraman (IAS Sub Collector) and Organizing Committee Chairman, 43rd Kerala State Sub Junior Basketball Championship.

The trophies and medals were distributed by Dr Sriram Venkitraman (IAS), Sub Collector of Thiruvalla.


Thiruvananthapuram 23 (Suleena9) bt Thrissur 21 (Aleena Antony 7, Angi Susan 5)


Erankulum 32 (Sayyan Muhammed 10,Thomas Zacharia 7) bt Thrissur 27 (Arian C K 9)

Ernakulum boys collecting their trophy at the 43rd Kerala State Sub Junior Basketball Championship

Bronze Games

Kottayam 46(Ann Mary Zacharia 26, Aksa Kuroam 12) bt Kozhikode 45 (Aysa Khanda 17, Avanthika Biju 10)


Thiruvananthapuram 53 (Pranav Sunny 19, Alan V 14) bt Kozhikode 48(Nithin Baby 15, Muhammed Fenzim 9)


Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply