The last day of the 3rd KMC Invitational Basketball Tournament saw the semi-finals and the finals of the men and women category. First semifinal was played between Shri Ram College of Commerce (SRCC) girls and Miranda House college, Aayushi of Miranda House lead her team to victory and a chance at the championship trophy. The game saw numerous lead changes and ties but Miranda House was able to get the W.

The second match of the day was played between Lady Shri Ram college (LSR) and Kirori Mal College girls (KMC). LSR played an impressive team game and beat the home team with a comfortable double digit lead. LSR was lead by Jasmine, was was essential in the win.

The third match of the day was played between Hindu college and Hansraj college. Expected to be a match between Delhi University’s two best centers in Satyajeet Chhaprana and Rahul Jakkhar, the game was decided by the guards from both team. Mohit Phutela of Hansraj college was instrumental in getting his team’s offense going and the win, he was also the leading scorer for Hansraj coleege.

Fourth match of the day was played between the coach and his players. Sachin Sharma (KMC’s coach) lead KMC alumni against his KMC team. Everybody thought it would be a close game but the students got the best of their coach this time and beat them with 20+ points. Yudhvir Dahiya of KMC lead his team to victory in a match filled with pranks and laughs.

Everybody was excited about the finals and no one as left dissatisfied. The women’s final between Miranda House (MH) and Lady Shri Ram College (LSR) showed the true meaning of “Give it your all”. Easily the best match in women’s category of the tournament it  showed passion, aggression and as well as competitiveness. Both teams played really well but there can be only one winner and that was LSR, who played a team game.

The most awaited match of any tournament, the championship match, was played between the home team Kirori Mal College (KMC) and Hansraj college. True to its nature the championship match needed a little extra from both sides. Yudhvir Dhaiya of KMC converted a couple of 3 pointers and it seemed as if KMC was set to lift the championship trophy, but then Rahul Jakkhar of Hansraj college received the ball at the free throw line, with one dribble he took to the sky and came down with a thunderous slam which invigorated his team and silenced the crowd. Both teams lead at some point of time during the match and the match went down to the very last possession of the game. Rahul missed a shot from below the basket that could have tied the match, with time winding down Hansraj had to foul and KMC made both free throws, effectively taking away the game and the championship trophy from Hansraj.

KMC won the tournament for the third straight time.

Mohit Phutela of Hansraj college was awarded the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the tournament for his exceptional performance throughout the tournament. Shilpi of LSR college was awarded the MVP in the women’s category.

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply