winner teams of men and women category at the 13th Chhattisgarh State Basketball Tournament

Winning Teams from Bhilai Steel Plant at the 13th Chhattisgarh State Basketball Tournament

The 13th Chhattisgarh State basketball Tournament was organized by the Bilaspur District Basketball Association, in association with Sports and Youth Welfare Department, Raipur, and Chattisgarh State Basketball Association.

Bhilai Steel Plant’s teams continued their dominance of the tournament with both their men’s and women’s teams being crowned champions. The women’s team won the final match against Durg district by a huge margin of 40 points, the final score being 110-70. This is the 11th straight time they have won the state tournament after the formation of the Chhattisharg state.  Scoring Breakdown – Poonam Singh (30), Sharanjeet Kaur (captain, 22), Sangeeta Kaur(20), Riya Verma (15), Jonaali Dutta (15), Medha Singh (11), Sangeeta Das (8), Palak Kothari (6), Saina Bante (4) and Rukhsar Ali (4)

In the men’s category, Bhilai Steel Plant’s team won against Rajnaandgao District with a final score of 69-45. Bhilai Steel Plant’s Men’s team has won every single edition of this tournament, now extending their streak to 13. Scoring Breakdown – Kiral Pal Singh (captain, 18), Rudrapatap Singh (12), Dinesh mishra (10), Lokesh Sharma (9), K. Shivkumar (10) and P. Rajesh (8).

Both teams from Bhilai Steel Plant had international players and their Senior Manager and Coach Rajesh Patel credited this win to the support of the plant’s Sports and Cultural Department.

Bhilai Municipal Corporation and Rajnandgao District secured third position in the men’s and women’s categories respectively.

Lakhan Lal Sahu, MP of the Bilaspur district, was the chief guest for the finals.

Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply