66th Senior National Basketball Championship 2015-16 Poster

The official online poster for the 66th Senior National Basketball Championship 2015-16. Designed by Team Ekalavyas’ Nitin Jerath

Bengaluru/Mysuru, 30th December 2015: The “City of Palaces” Mysuru appears all set to host the 66th Senior National Basketball Championship for Men and Women from 9th to 16th January 2016. The Chamundi Vihar Stadium complex, with its 2 indoor and 1 outdoor court will showcase the nation’s various state teams vying for the coveted title of National Champions.

The Karnataka State Basketball Association will be organizing the event under the aegis of the Basketball Federation of India.  Mysuru will be hosting the event after a gap of nearly 30 years. The last Senior National Basketball Championship to be held in the city was the 39th edition way back in 1987.

Over 140 matches will be played in this premier league cum knockout gala that will see the country’s top international stars in action. Vishesh Bhriguvanshi (Indian men’s team captain), Anitha Paul Durai (veteran Indian women’s captain) and Karnataka’s own international stars Arvind Arumugam, Bhandavya HM and Rajesh Uppar are just few of the big names expected to participate in this marquee event.

As many as 29 men’s teams and 24 women’s teams have confirmed their participation so far. Prior to the upcoming Championship, 65 editions of the Tournament have been held so far. The 2014-15 edition was held in Bhilwara, Rajasthan, with Chhattisgarh women and Uttarakhand men being crowned champions.

Hotel accommodation and meals will be provided to all the players, coaches, referees and officials during the 8-day event, all provided by the Karnataka State Basketball Associations.

Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply