Ernakulum Men's Senior State Champions

Ernakulum men: Kerala Senior State Champions

Babykutty, Kanhangad 16th, Dec 2015: Anchored by three senior international players Jeena P S, Anjanna P G and Stephy Nixon, Thiruvananthapuram defeated Pallakkad 57-44 and retained the Women’s title. Similarly, Ernakulum retained the Men’s title by defeating Kozhikode and were crowned champions at the end of the 60th Senior State Basketball Championship for Men and Women here at the GVHSS Floodlit Stadium, Kanhagad.

Thiruvanthapuram Wmen 1

Thiruvananthapuram women: Kerala Senior State Champions

Thiruvananthapuram which led 39-28 at the half time was top scored by Stephy Nixon with 18 points followed by Jeena PS with 17 points and for Pallakad Athira was the top scorer with 18 points.

kozhikode Men runner Up 1

Kozhikode men were the runner’s up of the Kerala Senior State Championship

In the men’s division Ernakulum spearheaded by the experienced players from Customs and Central Excise Kochi defeated a younger Kozhikode outfit which had major contributions from Mar Baselios College of Engineering players. The final score was 54-38 with an impressive performance by the international Basil Philip making 18 points for the victory.

Palakkad Women 1

Palakkad Women’s were the runner’s up of the Kerala Senior State Championship

Bronze for Thrissur women and Thiruvananthapuram Men

Women Bronze Medalist Thrissur

Thrissur were the bronze medalists of the Kerala Senior State Championship

Thiruvanthapuram Men defeated Kottayam 46-32 while Thrissur women beat Kozhikode 50-45 to secure the Bronze position.

Mens Bronze Medalist Thiruvanthapuram 1

Thiruvananthapuram were the bronze medalists of the Kerala Senior State Championship

2015-International Players and Coaches honored

Kerala Basketball Association also honoured the 2015 international players and coaches at a function here at GVHSS courts during the State Senior Basketball Championship. The coaches includes Sebastian P J who represented India at the 26thFIBA Asia championship for men at Chansha in China and Aju Jacob who went with the U16 team at the 4th FIBA Asia ChamionshipU16 in Jakarta Indonesia 2015. The Players who were honoured includes Jeena P.S, Stephy Nixon, Anjanna P G, Poojamol K S (26th FIBA Asia Championship for Senior Women, 2015 in Wuhan, China), Basil Philip (who captained the Senior Indian team in 3 on 3 World Tour in Beijing, China as well as 3×3 SABA qualifying round at Colombo), Muhammed Shiras and Joshua J George (4th FIBA Asia Chamionship U16 in Jakarta, Indonesia 2015). Kerala Basketball Association also honoured the members of Calicut university team and their coach P C Antony for bringing the All India University title back to Kerala after a gap of 12  years. The U16 school team which was the runner up in the School Nationals was also felicitated.

P K Parmeswaran Pillai Memorial Cash Award

Cash award instituted in the memory of P R Parmeswaran Pillai, the 1st General Secretary of Kerala Basketball Association went to Rahul Sharath of Kozhikode and Athira M of Pallakad.

PK Parameswaran Memoraial Promising Player Award winers rahul Sharath and Athira M 1

P K Parameswaran Memoraial Promising Player Award Winners Were Rahul Sharath and Athira M

P S Viswappan Memorial Gold Medal

P S Viswappan Gold Medal instituted in the memory of P S Viswappan, former international referee and coach to the Best Men and Best women Player, went to  Jeena P S (Thiruvananthapuram) who was the  3rd Best Shooter of the Asian Championship 2015 and Basil Philip (Ernakulum) who captained India at the 3 on 3 Asian Championship 2015.

Detailed scores

Women Final

  • Thiruvananthapuram 57 (Stephy Nixon 18, Jeena P S 17, Anjanna P G 12) bt Palakkad 44 ( Athira M 14)

Men final

  • Ernakulum 54 (Basil Philip 18) bt Kozhikode 38 (Ajith V G 12)

Bronze Medal Match


  • Thiruvananthapuram  46 (Ashin Xavier 12, Tony Mathew 11) bt Kottayam 32 (Abhilash 12)


  • Thrissur 50 (Grima Merlin Baby 22, Rojamol 11) bt Kozhikode 45 (Mayuka 15)

Women Semi final

  • Thiruvananthapuram 63 (Jeena P S 16, Anjanna P G 16) bt Kozhikode 34 (Rhea Rajendran 10)
  • Palakkad 53 (Ashey Mathew 16, Neenumol P S 16) bt Palakkad 43 (Asawthy S Thampy 15)

Men Semi final

  • Ernakulum 49 (Manoj R 14, Monish Wilson 13, Eudrick Pereira 10)bt Thiruvananthapuram 45 (Albin Baby 12, Tony K Mathew 11)
  • Kozhikode 54 (Jishnu G Nair 19, Ajith V K 14) bt Kottayam 47 (Robin S 14, Sudharshan 11)

Quarter Final Women

  • Thiruvananthpuram 58 (Jeena P S 21, Anjanna P G 13) bt Kottayam 41 (Arathy Vimal 15, Nishi Marium Baby 10, Minnu Marium Baby 10)
  • Palakkad 69 (Surya P R 25, Neenumol P S 15, Athira 10) bt Kollam 53 (Merlin Baby 14, Sonumol Soman 14, Anjnna P G 13)
  • Kozhikode 35 (Rhea Rajendran 12) bt Kannur 20
  • Thrissur 41 (Grima 10, Roja 10) bt Alapuzha 15
Team Ekalavyas
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply