Vijaya Bank 2nd Mulki Sunder Ram Shetty All India Basketball Tournament

  • Tournament, to be held from 7th to 11th October 2015, will feature the nation’s top men’s club sides
  • Felicitation ceremony on opening day to honour former Vijaya Bank Olympian G Dileep and current internationals Arvind A and Rajesh Uppar
  • Matches will be held at Kanteerava Indoor Stadium, Bengaluru from 5:00 pm onwards

Bengaluru, 6th October 2015: Karnataka’s leading nationalised bank, Vijaya Bank, is proud to announce the dates of the 2nd Mulki Sunder Ram Shetty All India Basketball Tournament 2015.  The tournament is being held in the memory of the Late Shri Mulki Sunder Ram Shetty, a longstanding former Chairman, who was instrumental in the growth of the bank through the 60s and 70s.

The tournament will be held at the Kanteerava Indoor Stadium in Bengaluru from 7th to 11th October 2015, under the auspices of the Basketball Federation of India and the Karnataka State Basketball Association. Matches will be played every evening from 5:00 pm onwards in a league cum knockout basis.

The opening day i.e. 7th October 2015, will see a felicitation ceremony honouring Shri G Dileep, a former Olympian basketballer who joined Vijaya Bank in 1984, and has recently retired from service.  Current Vijaya Bank employees Arvind Arumugam and Rajesh Uppar (batch of 2012) will also be felicitated for being part of the Senior Indian men’s team that finished 8th in the 28th FIBA Asia Basketball Championship that concluded last week in Changsha, China. Senior Vijaya Bank executives Shri Kishore Sansi, MD & CEO, Shri KR Shenoy and Shri BS Rama Rao (both Executive Directors) are expected to grace the occasion as chief guests.

There are 8 teams in the fray in this tournament, divided into two Pools of 4 teams each. This edition of the tournament will feature some of the nation’s top men’s club sides such as last year’s runners up and reigning National Games champion Oil and National Gas Corporation (ONGC)-Dehradun, Punjab, Integral Coach Factory (ICF)-Chennai, Income Tax-Chennai, Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB), South Central Railway-Secunderabad, hosts Vijaya Bank and Karnataka State team.

The top two teams from each Pool qualifying to the knockout rounds. The inaugural edition of the tournament was held last year in Malleshwaram, with Indian Overseas Bank (IOB)-Chennai, ONGC, Vijaya Bank and Karnataka State finishing as the top four teams respectively.

Vijaya Bank- A proud heritage in basketball

Notably, Vijaya Bank is the only recruiter of basketball talent in the state of Karnataka, and has contributed 10 international players to the country, starting with Olympian Gurumurthy Dileep, who joined the bank way back in 1984. Other international players honed by the bank are former India captain BS Gautham (1986), A Rajkumar (1988), S Stalin (1993), G Murali Mohan (1995), Roshan Thankachan (1999), Sanjay Raj (2002), Arvind Arumugam and Rajesh Uppar (both in 2012). Including these international stars, in all, the bank has recruited 25 national level players, who have represented their bank and the state of Karnataka with great pride and gusto.

About Vijaya Bank

Vijaya Bank, was founded on 23rd October 1931 by late Shri A B Shetty and other enterprising farmers in Mangalore, Karnataka. The objective of the founders was essentially to promote banking habit, thrift and entrepreneurship among the farming community of Dakshina Kannada district in Karnataka State. The bank became a scheduled bank in 1958.

Vijaya Bank steadily grew into a large All India bank, with nine smaller banks merging with it during the 1963-68. The credit for this merger as well as growth goes to late Shri M. Sunder Ram Shetty, who was then the Chief Executive of the bank. The bank was nationalised on 15th April 1980. The bank has built a network of 1512 branches, 48 Extension Counters and 1528 ATMs, that span all 28 states and 4 union territories in the country.

Each branch provides effective and efficient services and significantly contributes to the growth of the individual, and the nation.


7th to 11th October 2015

Kanteerava Indoor Stadium, Bengaluru

Pool A

Pool B



Matches from 5:00 pm onwards

  1. Vijaya Bank vs South Central Railway
  2. ONGC vs Income Tax
  3. Punjab vs Karnataka
  4. ICF vs KSEB


Matches from 5:00 pm onwards

  1. Punjab vs Income Tax
  2. Vijaya Bank vs KSEB
  3. ONGC vs Karnataka State
  4. ICF vs South Central Railway


Matches from 5:00 pm onwards

  1. South Central Railway vs KSEB
  2. ICF vs Vijaya Bank
  3. ONGC vs Punjab
  4. Karnataka vs Income Tax


Semifinal Matches from 5:00 pm onwards

  1. Winner A vs Runner B
  2. Winner B vs Runner A


Matches from 5:00 pm onwards

  1. 3rd Place Match
  2. Finals
Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply