Babykutty, Thiruvalla: Joshua George of CMI Public School, Thevara and Reyna Katherine from Christ School, Irinjalakuda will lead Kerala at the 32nd Youth National Basketball Championship for Boys & Girls to be held at Bhavnagar, Gujarat from 14th to 20th, September 2015.

The boys will be coached by Cigi George from Kerala State Sports Council, Thiruvananthapuram while Harikrishnan from Kozhikode will be the girls coach. Robin George and Rilja Babu will manage the teams.

Reyna Katherine to lead Kerala in Youth National Basketball Championship 2015

Reyna Katherine

Team Girls: Reyna Katherine (c), Festy P Jose, Sneha Sebastian, Aleena Paul Maveli (all from Thrissur), Akhila Mohan, Adhika M P, Archana Vijayan, Anjana C (all from Kozhikode), Aleesh Cleetus and Sylviya George Shibu  (both from Kottayam), Jayalakshmi V S (Alapuzha) and Sreekala R of Thiruvananthapuram.

Joshua J George

Joshua J George

Team Boys: Joshua J George (c), Sharaun Frazilin, Allen Robin and Aswin J Mapilly (all from Ernakulum), Mohammed Shijas, Jithin Paul, Sajith Pappachan (all from Kottayam) Abhinandhu A and Feby J George (both from Alapuzha), Jibin KS (Thiruvananthapuram), Gokul Babu (Thrissur) and Aswin Binu (Idukki).

About 32nd Youth National Basketball Championship

The 32nd Youth National Basketball Championship is being conducted in Bhavnagar, Gujarat from 14th to 20th September 2015 by the Gujarat State Basketball Association in association with the Bhavnagar District Basketball Association and the Youngsters Basketball Club, Bhavnagar under the aegis of the Basketball Federation of India.

The tournament shall see the participation of 43 teams from different states, which includes and 22 teams in the boys’ category and 21 teams in the girls’ category, in the ‘16 and under’ age group. Last year’s Youth National Championship was held in Chandigarh. The winners of the 2014 version were Tamil Nadu, in both the boys’ and girls’ categories, while the first runners up position was secured by the boys’ and girls’ teams from Kerala. The third place winner in the boys’ category last year was the team from Haryana. In the girls’ category, the third place winner last year was Karnataka.

This year’s tournament is being held on two outdoor courts at Maharaja Krishnakumarsinhji Bhavnagar University. KARP Impex Group, involved in the business of diamond polishing, crafting and sale and based out of Surat, Gujarat, is the title sponsor for the event. Other sponsors include Sheetal Group, Acrysil Limited, Madhu Silica, Sports Authority of Gujarat, HVK, Rudra TMX, Mono TMT Bar, Leela Worldwide, Maruti Metal Industries, Priya Blue Industries Private Limited, Navyug Pharma Chemical Private Limited, NBM – Iron and Steel Trading Private Limited and Kiran Diamonds.

Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply