Arshdeep Dhillon jumps over two chairs in the dunk contest.

Arshdeep Dhillon jumps over two chairs in the dunk contest. Image credit: FIBA 3×3

New Delhi/Bengaluru (16 August 2015): Out of contention in the team event, Indian players competed in their individual capacities to end their 2015 FIBA 3×3 World Tour- Beijing Masters on a positive note.

20-year-old Kushmeet Atwal from Team Chandigarh shone in the shootout contest by topping the qualification round. In the finals he finished third behind Dusan Domovic Bulut-Team NoviSad AlWahda and Xu Liu-Team Beijing. The other Indian in the fray, Siddhant Shinde from Team Bangalore failed to make it past the qualification stage.

In the dunk contest, Team Chandigarh’s Arshdeep Dhillon jumped over two chairs and successfully completed both his dunks to register 40 points in total. His countrymate Jeevanantham P from Team Bangalore made the first dunk but missed the second attempt. Neither player qualified to the knockout stages of the event that was eventually won by Jordan “Mission Impossible” Kilganon from Canada.

About Beijing Masters

The third stage of the 2015 FIBA 3×3 World Tour will be held in Beijing China on 15-16 August 2015. The twelve best teams from the qualifiers held in the Beijing catchment area compete for two days for the pride to represent their city, a USD 10,000 cheque and a chance (for the two finalists) to qualify for the FIBA 3×3 World Tour Final in Abu Dhabi on 15-16 October 2015.

The 12 teams are divided into four pools of three teams playing in a round-robin first round against their two respective pool opponents. The top-two placed teams from each pool advance to a standard knock-out round which starts at the quarter-finals stage. The two best teams qualify for the FIBA 3×3 World Tour Final, which will be staged in Abu Dhabi on 15-16 October 2015. Apart from this main event, a dunk contest and a three-point shootout contest will also be held.  Read more:


Team Bangalore

1. Basil Philip SG/SF 12 10/01/1991 Sulthanbathery, Kerala
2. Rajesh Uppar PG 4 20/01/1991 Dharwad, Karnataka
3. Siddhant Shinde PG/SG 9 15/06/1991 Pune, Maharashtra
4. Jeevanantham Pandi PF/C 10 13/10/1994 Virudhunagar, Tamil Nadu

*C= Centre, PF= Power Forward, SF= Small Forward, SG= Shooting Guard, PG= Point Guard

Team Chandigarh

1. Kushmeet Atwal 24/04/1995
2. Arshpreet Bhullar 01/10/1996
3. Arshdeep Dhillon 02/12/1995
4. Rajveer Singh 24/10/1995

About the FIBA 3×3 World Tour

The FIBA 3×3 World Tour is the pinnacle event of an ‘open’ network of FIBA-endorsed 3×3 tournaments. Any group of four players – regardless of their nationality and representing a city – can qualify for the FIBA 3×3 World Tour by taking part in a lower level/regional tournament, eventually making their way to the world stage.

The FIBA 3×3 World Tour was first launched in 2012. The former winners are San Juan (PUR, 2012), Brezovica (SLO, 2013) and Novi Sad (SRB, 2014).

It consists of six Masters tournaments, before culminating with the FIBA 3×3 World Tour Final. The schedule of the 2015 edition is the following:

  • Manila Masters, Philippines – 1-2 August
  • Prague Masters, Czech Republic – 8-9 August
  • Beijing Masters, China – 15-16 August
  • Lausanne Masters, Switzerland – 28-29 August
  • Mexico DF Masters, Mexico – 9-10 September
  • Rio de Janeiro Masters, Brazil – 26-27 September
  • 3×3 World Tour Final, Abu Dhabi, UAE -15-16 October

The FIBA 3×3 World Tour events are true urban culture festivals, organised in the heart of the cities against the most iconic landmarks and feature non-stop music and MCs calling the games, professional dunkers, breakdancers and other street artists. They are in line with FIBA’s “3×3 for everyone philosophy” as spectators and passers-by are invited to participate in 3×3 games and activities.

Read more:

About 3×3 Basketball- Basic Rules

  • Four members per team. Three active players on court at all times, with one rolling substitute.
  • Played using only one half of a traditional basketball court.
  • Scoring:
    • Traditional three point shots from behind the arc will be awarded 2 points
    • Every shot inside the arc is awarded 1 point.
    • Every successful freethrow is awarded 1 point.
  • Match duration: 10 minutes (with stoppages for dead ball situations and freethrows)
  • The team which scores 21 points or more within the match duration, wins the game. If neither team is able to reach 21 points, then the team with the higher points after the conclusion of 10 minutes is declared the winner.
  • If the scores are tied, then an extra period of time is played. Here the first team to score 2 points in overtime wins the game.
  • Each offensive possession will be for 12 seconds only.
  • Following each successful field goal or made free throw, a player from the non-scoring team will resume the game by dribbling or passing the ball from inside the court directly underneath the basket (not from behind the end line) to a place on the court behind the arc.
  • If the defensive team steals or blocks the ball, it must return the ball behind the arc (by passing or dribbling).

Read more:×3/3x3_2015_Rules_Text.pdf

Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply