Sniggdha during a tournament in Bengaluru in 2014.

Sniggdha during a tournament in Bengaluru in 2014.

Bengaluru girl Snigddha Nair is one of the 12 young women currently in Indonesia representing the country as part of the U16 team in the 4th FIBA Asia Championships. For Nair, this moment has been in the making for many years now, even since she started playing basketball at the age of 10, back in 2009. We had the foresight to interview her via email many months ago, and there couldn’t be a more opportune time to publish this rapid fire Q&A with Snigddha. So read on!

Name: Snigddha     

Teammates call you… Sniggy

Date of Birth: 16-September-1999

Hometown:  Bangalore

Height:  175 cms

Position: Power forward

Teams Played for (& duration):  India U16 team (2015); Appaiah Basketball Club (2009- till date); Karnataka State (sub-junior and youth)

First time you held a basketball in your hand (age + occasion)

I started playing when I was 10 years old back in 2009, when I joined Appaiah Basketball Club, Bengaluru.

So many sports, why basketball? If not basketball, then what?

I have received formal coaching in cricket and kickboxing. But the game of basketball has impressed me the most.

Image credit Raghavendra Mohan.

Image credit Raghavendra Mohan.

Support System (family- whether they played sports & coaches- how they helped)

My mother has represented Karnataka State in Hockey and my brother has been part of the Karnataka State Basketball  team for the youth Nationals. My grandparents have always showered their blessings on me. My coach, Ms. Vani Shree puts in lots of work hours with me to bring out the best in me. She has been my constant inspiration.

Signature Move (favourite  move): The Crossover Dribble

Training: Morning 2 hours, Evening 2 hours, Gym two days a week, Team practice daily.

Your favourite  practise drill: Endurance Drills

Favourite Indian players: Geethu Anna Jose, Shiba Maggon and The Singh Sisters. They are all my role models. 

Favourite international player (and why): Lebron James. He is a very powerful and a dynamic player.

Most memorable moments (and why): Winning medals for Karnataka State every time that I have represented it.

Most forgettable moments (and why):  Suffered a fracture in an inter-school basketball match a day before my Indian Camp.   

Future goal: Wear the Indian Colours and win laurels for the country.

Favourite sports person in general (and why): Sachin Tendulkar. He is very humble and down-to- earth despite his great sporting achievements.

Current Status: Studying in 10th standard Alpine Public School, Bengaluru

Message to other youngsters (tips): Grasp each and every opportunity that comes by.

There is no substitute for hardwork.

 

Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply