Monday – January 19th, 2015
Sathyabama University, Chennai 64 81 University of Madras, Chennai
Game over

Venue: Indoor Stadium – Sathyabama University, Entry is Free

*Box scores are updated every two minutes. Please refresh page for latest scores. 

Sathyabama University, Chennai 15 13 16 20 64
University of Madras, Chennai 18 14 25 24 81

Match Summary

Victorious University of Madras team.

Vishnu Ravi Shankar & Gopalakrishnan R, Chennai, 19th January 2015: The battle of the city rivals in the final of the UBA All India Inter University Basketball Championship 2014-15 ended in University of Madras getting the better of host team, Sathyabama University.  In what was a rematch of the South Zone final, the University of Madras were in top form and were able to exact revenge. The game began with Sathyabama off to scorching start with Arun Prashanth driving and dishing and connecting from the 3-point line as well. Sathyabama were up 13-2 five minutes into the game.

After some stern words from their coach, University of Madras stepped up their game and clamped down on the defensive end. Their 6’8” centre, Jeevanatham was again the difference maker, as he shut down the paint and protected the rim. Along with forward, N Nagaraj, University of Madras dominated in the paint against the Sathyabama defence. Their point guard, Anto Bethle was the head of the offensive snake, as he controlled the tempo of the game beautifully. Sathyabama’s front line had difficulty working in the paint against Jeevanatham and they managed to score only 16 points in the paint as compared to 48 paint points from University of Madras. Jeevanatham had 5 blocks in the game and altered numerous shots as well.

Sathyabama player (in black) lays the ball against Madras University.

Sathyabama’s main shooter Vimal Raj had an off-night with poor field goal percentage in this game. Further, the absence of key forward Muin Bek to an injury sustained in the semi-final, severely hurt Sathyabama. University of Madras ran away with the game in the second half as four players ended up with double-doubles. Jeevanatham dominated for 26 points and 10 rebounds, while N Nagaraj put up 20 points and 14 rebounds. They were ably supported by teammates Anto Bethle (19 points and 11 rebounds) and Karthickeyan S. (12 points and 12 rebounds). University of Madras ended up registering a 81-64 victory to be crowned champions of the All India Inter University Championship 2014-15.

Abhishek Bachchan with the University of Madras team.

Bollywood actor and sports enthusiast, Abhishek Bachchan was the chief guest at the final and handed over the trophies and medals to the teams. On the occasion, he said “Basketball is growing rapidly and is going to be the biggest sport in this country. The Universal Basketball Alliance will continue to have my full support in this great initiative to promote basketball in India.”

Earlier in the day, Jain University, Bengaluru defeating Bharati Vidyapeeth University, Pune 123-115 to secure third place.



University of Madras, Chennai (Jeevanatham P. 26 points 10 rebounds, N Nagaraj 20 points 14 rebounds, Anto Bethle 19 points 11 rebounds, Karthickeyan S 12 points 12 rebounds) bt Sathyabama University, Chennai (Arun Prashanth 19 points, Rakesh 17 points 16 rebounds, Vimal Raj 10 points) 81-64 (18-15, 14-13, 25-16, 24-20)

3rd Place:

Jain University, Bengaluru (Kaif Zia 36 points 14 rebounds, Yashas R 31 points, Vinoth 25 points) bt Bharati Vidyapeeth University, Pune (Kapil Gaikwad 48 points, Akshay Bhosle 36 points) 123-115 (25-34, 29-36, 33-21, 36-24)

About the All India University Championships

The Association of Indian Universities (“AIU”) Annual Men’s National Basketball Championship Tournament is a large Pan-India basketball tournament.  The winning team is crowned the number one university basketball team in India.  The Tournament is structured similar to the NCAA Basketball tournament in the United States.  It is broken down into regional series which are held in each of four regions in India — The South Zone, the North Zone, the East Zone, and the West Zone.  The teams in each region compete in regional tournaments, and the four winning teams from each region play in the final Tournament – The Inter Zonal Tournament.

The top four teams that qualified from each of the four zones are as follows:

South Zone

  1. Sathyabama University, Chennai
  2. Madras University, Chennai
  3. Bharathiar University, Coimbatore
  4. Jain University, Bengaluru

North Zone

  1. Punjab University, Chandigarh
  2. Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar
  3. University of Delhi, Delhi
  4. Jamia Millia Islamia, Delhi

East Zone

  1. Mahatma Gandhi Kasi Vidyapeeth University, Varanasi
  2. Ravishankar Shukla University, Raipur
  3. Burdwan University, Burdwan
  4. Veer Bahadur Singh Purvanshal University, Jaunpur

West Zone

  1. Bharati Vidya Peet University, Pune
  2. University of Rajasthan, Jaipur
  3. Savitribai Phule University, Pune
  4. Shivaji University, Kolhapur

About Universal Basketball Alliance of India (UBA)

The Universal Basketball Alliance of India, LLC (“UBA”) has acquired the broadcast, merchandise and sponsorship rights to the existing, and self-governing Indian University Basketball Program.  The UBA is currently securing television broadcasting arrangements, securing corporate sponsorships for tournament play, and creating merchandising opportunities.

UBA will focus its attention on the AIU and popularizing its All India Inter Zonal Tournament as an entertainment product for Indian viewers to enjoy for generations to come, just as Collegiate Basketball is in the United States.

About Association of Indian Universities (AIU)

The idea of bringing together all the universities on a common platform emerged from the deliberations of a Conference of the Vice Chancellors of Universities convened by Lord Reading, the then Viceroy of India at Shimla in 1924. The Inter-University Board (IUB) of India was subsequently formed on March 23, 1925, with the view of promoting university activities, especially by way of sharing information and co-operation in the field of education, culture, sports and allied areas. The Inter-University Board acquired a legal status with its registration in 1967 as a Society under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. In 1973, it assumed its present name: The Association of Indian Universities (AIU). The membership includes traditional universities, open universities, professional universities, Institutes of National Importance and deemed-to-be universities. In addition, there is a provision of granting of Associate Membership to universities of neighbouring countries.


Stat Sheet

Play by Play


Qualifying matches*
(*note that all four teams below have already qualified to Level 1 and these matches are being held for the sole purpose of granting the two winning teams the right to choose their pre-quarter final opponent from level 1)

Vishnu Ravi Shankar


Girls: Kerala 60 (Nivya Raj 20, Anusha 19) bt Maharashtra 53 (Shruti 21, Neha 12) [21-11, 13-17, 13-11, 13-14]

Vishnu Ravi Shankar


Vishnu Ravi Shankar
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply