Aniket Jadhav of Bharati Vidyapeeth, Pune (in black) scores against Sagar Siwach of Jamia Islamia, Delhi.

Aniket Jadhav of Bharati Vidyapeeth, Pune (in black) scores against Sagar Siwach of Jamia Islamia, Delhi. Image courtesy: Jerome from Solaris Images

Gopalakrishnan R & Vishnu Ravi Shankar, Chennai, 16th January 2015: Bharati Vidyapeeth University, Pune beat Jamia Millia Islamia University, Delhi earlier this evening to go through to the semifinals of the UBA All India Inter University Basketball Tournament for Men 2014-15. The Delhi team got off to a good start with their best player, Manu Babu, driving past the Pune defence with relative ease to finish at the rim. Jamia’s big man, Harsh Malik, contributed with points in the paint for his team, bruising his way against the Pune defence.

The second quarter, however, belonged to Bharati Vidyapeeth as they tightened their defence and forced turnovers against the Jamia team. Pune’s Kapil Gaikwad and their captain, Akshay Bhosale, were the main contributors draining shots from the inside and outside. Pune’s excellent ball movement was on full display as they managed to find the open man on the offensive end. On the other hand, Jamia’s offense came majorly from isolation plays from Manu Babu who had 30 points and Harsh Malik who had 22 points and 13 rebounds in the game. The contrast in the offensive styles was apparent in the number of team assists – Jamia had only 2 total assists, while Bharati Vidyapeeth had 17 total assists in the game.

There were only three points separating the teams at the end of three quarters with Bharati Vidyapeeth leading 64 to 61. The Pune team pulled away in the fourth and held their nerve and the lead despite a furious late comeback attempt by Jamia. Pune’s Kapil Gaikwad ended up with a game-high 35 points and he also had 11 rebounds. Captain Akshay Bhosle had 23 points and 8 rebounds, while Pune’s point guard had a good all-round game with 14 points, 10 rebounds and 6 assists. Bharati Vidyapeeth registered a 94-84 victory and will face the home team, Sathyabama University, in the semi-finals to be held this Sunday.

Bharathiar Univ in white against Madras Univ.

Bharathiar Univ in white against Madras Univ.

In the last quarterfinal of the tournament, University of Madras comprehensively beat Bharathiar University, Coimbatore in a one-sided affair. Familiar with Bharathiar’s game having already beaten them earlier in the South Zone rounds, Madras had no trouble outscoring their state opponents in each of the four quarters, but their main takeaway came from their defensive work in the second quarter when they restricted Bharathiar to just five points. Centre Jeevanatham P, who is also on the senior Tamil Nadu state team, dominated proceedings on both ends of the floor for Madras University, notching up a double double of 16 points and 14 rebounds. To the delight of the crowd, he also had an in-game dunk.

University of Madras, Chennai will now face Jain University, Bengaluru, while Bharati Vidyapeet, Pune will take on Sathyabama University, Chennai, in the semifinals that will be played on 18th January 2015.

Quarterfinal Results

University of Madras, Chennai (Jeevanatham P 16 pts & 14 rbs, S Karthickeyan 19, Navin Raj 13) bt Bharathiar University, Coimbatore (Kasi 17, Mani 12 pts & 12 rbs, Gopi 11 pts & 11 rbs) 85-57 [21-17, 21-5, 22-16, 21-19]

Bharati Vidyapeeth University, Pune (Kapil Gaikwad 35 pts & 11 rbs, Akshay Bhosale 23 pts, Sarfaraz Irani 14 pts 10 rbs 6 asts, Gautam Daddikar 12 pts & 12 rbs) bt Jamia Millia Islamia University, Delhi (Manu Babu 30, Harsh Malik 22 pts & 13 rbs, Sagar Siwach 11 pts & 13 rbs, Ankur Tomar 13) 94-84 [15-23, 26-14, 23-24, 30-23]

About the All India University Championships

The Association of Indian Universities (“AIU”) Annual Men’s National Basketball Championship Tournament is a large Pan-India basketball tournament.  The winning team is crowned the number one university basketball team in India.  The Tournament is structured similar to the NCAA Basketball tournament in the United States.  It is broken down into regional series which are held in each of four regions in India — The South Zone, the North Zone, the East Zone, and the West Zone.  The teams in each region compete in regional tournaments, and the four winning teams from each region play in the final Tournament – The Inter Zonal Tournament.

The top four teams that have qualified from each of the four zones are as follows:

South Zone

  1. Sathyabama University, Chennai
  2. Madras University, Chennai
  3. Bharathiar University, Coimbatore
  4. Jain University, Bengaluru

North Zone

  1. Punjab University, Chandigarh
  2. Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar
  3. University of Delhi, Delhi
  4. Jamia Millia Islamia, Delhi

East Zone

  1. Mahatma Gandhi Kasi Vidyapeeth University, Varanasi
  2. Ravishankar Shukla University, Raipur
  3. Burdwan University, Burdwan
  4. Veer Bahadur Singh Purvanshal University, Jaunpur

West Zone

  1. Bharati Vidya Peet University, Pune
  2. University of Rajasthan, Jaipur
  3. Savitribai Phule University, Pune
  4. Shivaji University, Kolhapur

About Universal Basketball Alliance of India (UBA)

The Universal Basketball Alliance of India, LLC (“UBA”) has acquired the broadcast, merchandise and sponsorship rights to the existing, and self-governing Indian University Basketball Program.  The UBA is currently securing television broadcasting arrangements, securing corporate sponsorships for tournament play, and creating merchandising opportunities.

UBA will focus its attention on the AIU and popularizing its All India Inter Zonal Tournament as an entertainment product for Indian viewers to enjoy for generations to come, just as Collegiate Basketball is in the United States.

About Association of Indian Universities (AIU)

The idea of bringing together all the universities on a common platform emerged from the deliberations of a Conference of the Vice Chancellors of Universities convened by Lord Reading, the then Viceroy of India at Shimla in 1924. The Inter-University Board (IUB) of India was subsequently formed on March 23, 1925, with the view of promoting university activities, especially by way of sharing information and co-operation in the field of education, culture, sports and allied areas. The Inter-University Board acquired a legal status with its registration in 1967 as a Society under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. In 1973, it assumed its present name: The Association of Indian Universities (AIU). The membership includes traditional universities, open universities, professional universities, Institutes of National Importance and deemed-to-be universities. In addition, there is a provision of granting of Associate Membership to universities of neighbouring countries.