From L to R- Anju Bobby George, Col Jeppiaar, Deepesh Solanki and Cedric Ceballos unveil the specially crafted AIU tournament ball and trophy.

From L to R- Anju Bobby George, Col Jeppiaar, Deepesh Solanki and Cedric Ceballos unveil the specially crafted AIU tournament ball and trophy.

Gopalakrishnan R & Vishnu Ravi Shankar, Chennai, 12th January 2015: The UBA All India Inter-University Basketball Tournament for Men 2014-15 tipped off earlier this morning at the Sathyabama University, Chennai courts. Teams from the South began positively with Jain University, Bengaluru, University of Madras, Chennai and Bharatiar University, Coimbatore registering comfortable double digit wins over teams from the East Zones.

In a late evening game, hosts and reigning Indian College Basketball League Champions Sathyabama University exploded in the second half against Shivaji University, Kolhapur to cross the three digit scoring mark for a lopsided first win.

Prior to the matches, the inauguration ceremony saw all the teams marching past the Chief Guest Ms Anju Bobby George, the star long jumper and the only Indian athlete to win a medal at the World Athletics Championship. Also in attendance at the inaugural function were ex-NBA player and dunk contest winner Cedric Ceballos, Col. Dr Jeppiaar, the Founder Chancellor of Sathyabama University, Marie Johnson and Mariazeena Johnson, Directors of Sathyabama University, Deepesh Solanki, Director of Universal Basketball Alliance of India (UBA), Sunday Zeller Whelan, Founder & Co-CEO, Elite Football League of India (EFLI).

University of Madras (blue) in the inaugural match against Kasi Vidyapeeth, Varanasi.

University of Madras (blue) in the inaugural match against Kasi Vidyapeeth, Varanasi.

Speaking on the occasion, Ms George said, “Sports is not all about winning. Winning and losing is part of life. You should have guts to lose, only then will you have the courage to win. I have lost more competitions that I have won. There will be more opportunities for basketball as Indian economy continues to grow. Hope some of you will take the lead tomorrow in achieving far greater heights that I have achieved in my career.”

On his part, ex NBA high flier Ceballos’s short speech was received by a huge round of applause which he duly acknowledged. “It’s an honour and privilege for me to be here. Each one of you assembled here wants to win the Championship. You must try to be the best you can be on and off the court, by conducting yourself in the best possible manner. Basketball has given you the opportunity to make your dreams come true.”

As part of the festivities, a specially crafted ‘AIU’ match ball and trophy were also unveiled at the ceremony.

Delhi University attempts a jumpshot against Pt Ravishankar University, Raipur.

Delhi University attempts a jumpshot against Pt Ravishankar University, Raipur.

Results from 12th January 2015

Indoor Court

Sathyabama University, Chennai (Rakesh 15 pts & 16 rbs, Ravi K 15, Prem K 12 pts & 17 rbs) bt Shivaji University, Kolhapur (Arshad K 24, Nikhilesh N 10) 111-67 [15-20, 24-12, 36-20, 36-15]

Outdoor Court ‘A’

Punjab University (Ravi 23, Khushmeet Singh 19, Aditya S 16 pts & 17 rbs) bt Rajasthan University (Sharad D 39 pts & 11 rbs) 82-68 [22-13, 15-16, 22-16, 22-23]

Jain University, Bengaluru (Kaif Zia 20, Visu Palani 17, Michael 11) bt Burdwan University, Burdwan, West Bengal (Ranjoy P 16, Rahul J 12, Siva R 10, Raj M 10) 61-48 [18-16, 14-12, 14-6, 15-14]

University of Madras, Chennai (Vinoth 17, Karthikeyan 14, R Nagaraj 13) bt MG Kasi Vidya Peet University, Varanasi (H Singh 13, AK Singh 13) 84-55 [19-12, 13-22, 28-10, 24-11]

Outdoor Court ‘B’

Pt. Ravishankar Shukla University, Raipur (Kiranpal Singh 30, Ajay Pratap Singh 25) bt University of Delhi (Pulkit Sachdeva 12, Ankit 11) 74-54 [20-12, 28-16, 11-14, 15-12]

Bharatiar University, Coimbatore (Benny 15, Gopi 14, Jeyaseelam 11) bt Veer Bahadur Singh Purvanshal University, Jaunpur, Uttar Pradesh (Zeeshan Shahid 14, Anshliman Singh 9, Shashank Paliwal 5) 77-50 [29-15, 16-7, 15-17, 17-11]

About Association of Indian Universities (AIU)

The idea of bringing together all the universities on a common platform emerged from the deliberations of a Conference of the Vice Chancellors of Universities convened by Lord Reading, the then Viceroy of India at Shimla in 1924. The Inter-University Board (IUB) of India was subsequently formed on March 23, 1925, with the view of promoting university activities, especially by way of sharing information and co-operation in the field of education, culture, sports and allied areas. The Inter-University Board acquired a legal status with its registration in 1967 as a Society under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. In 1973, it assumed its present name: The Association of Indian Universities (AIU). The membership includes traditional universities, open universities, professional universities, Institutes of National Importance and deemed-to-be universities. In addition, there is a provision of granting of Associate Membership to universities of neighbouring countries.

About the All India University Championships

The Association of Indian Universities (“AIU”) Annual Men’s National Basketball Championship Tournament is a large Pan-India basketball tournament.  The winning team is crowned the number one university basketball team in India.  The Tournament is structured similar to the NCAA Basketball tournament in the United States.  It is broken down into regional series which are held in each of four regions in India — The South Zone, the North Zone, the East Zone, and the West Zone.  The teams in each region compete in regional tournaments, and the four winning teams from each region play in the final Tournament – The Inter Zonal Tournament.

The top four teams that have qualified from each of the four zones are as follows:

South Zone

  1. Sathyabama University, Chennai
  2. Madras University, Chennai
  3. Bharathiar University, Coimbatore
  4. Jain University, Bengaluru

North Zone

  1. Punjab University, Chandigarh
  2. Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar
  3. University of Delhi, Delhi
  4. Jamia Millia Islamia, Delhi

East Zone

  1. Mahatma Gandhi Kasi Vidyapeeth University, Varanasi
  2. Ravishankar Shukla University, Raipur
  3. Burdwan University, Burdwan
  4. Veer Bahadur Singh Purvanshal University, Jaunpur

West Zone

  1. Bharati Vidya Peet University, Pune
  2. University of Rajasthan, Jaipur
  3. Savitribai Phule University, Pune
  4. Shivaji University, Kolhapur

About Universal Basketball Alliance of India (UBA)

The Universal Basketball Alliance of India, LLC (“UBA”) has acquired the broadcast, merchandise and sponsorship rights to the existing, and self-governing Indian University Basketball Program.  The UBA is currently securing television broadcasting arrangements, securing corporate sponsorships for tournament play, and creating merchandising opportunities.

UBA will focus its attention on the AIU and popularizing its All India Inter Zonal Tournament as an entertainment product for Indian viewers to enjoy for generations to come, just as Collegiate Basketball is in the United States.