South Zone Men's Champions Sathyabama University.

South Zone Men’s Champions Sathyabama University.

Gopalakrishnan R, Chennai, 8th -9th January 2015: The UBA South Zone Inter University Basketball Tournament 2014-15 concluded earlier today in Sathyabama University, Chennai. 84 teams took part in this mammoth regional event organised by Sathyabama University under the management of Universal Basketball Alliance of India and the Association of Indian Universities (AIU).

The UBA South Zone event ran from 3rd to 9th January. In an exciting finals match city rivals University of Madras and hosts Sathyabama University battled for top honours. Madras University led in the first quarter, but backed by a roaring crowd, Sathyabama fought back to take a 45-40 lead at halftime. The third quarter saw a furious rally by Madras Univeristy led by its centre Jeevanatham who is also on the senior Tamil Nadu state team that reached the finals of the just concluded 65th Senior National Championship in Bhilwara, Rajasthan. In the fourth quarter, the hosts took back a slender lead through some excellent clutch play by Delhi & Haryana player Rakesh. On the other side, for Madras University, junior international player Karthikeyan came back from an ankle injury to repeatedly go to the foul line. But Sathyabama players kept their cool down the stretch to win a tense game 84-80.

The top four teams that qualified from the South Zone for the All India Tournament in the order of their seeding are as follows:

  1. Sathyabama University, Chennai
  2. Madras University, Chennai
  3. Bharathiar University, Coimbatore
  4. Jain University, Bengaluru

The top teams from the other three zones that will arrive shortly to Sathyabama University for the All India Tournament from 12th to 19th January 2015 are as follows:

North Zone

  1. Punjab University, Chandigarh
  2. Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar
  3. University of Delhi, Delhi
  4. Jamia Millia Islamia, Delhi

East Zone

  1. Mahatma Gandhi Kasi Vidyapeeth University, Varanasi
  2. Ravishankar Shukla University, Raipur
  3. Burdwan University, Burdwan
  4. Veer Bahadur Singh Purvanshal University, Jaunpur

West Zone

  1. Bharati Vidya Peet University, Pune
  2. University of Rajasthan, Jaipur
  3. Savitribai Phule University, Pune
  4. Shivaji University, Kolhapur

Apart from the lively organisation of the event by the students at Sathyabama University (desi hip-hop music between quarters, a huge LED screen showcasing top 10 NBA plays of high fliers like Blake Griffin, and a sizeable local college crowd to watch the teams play) what stood out was the timely conduct of the matches, near faultless keeping of the digital scoreboards and the top class indoor court. If this is how the South Zone rounds have been conducted, the National Championship promises to be a blast.

South Zone Results from 8th- 9th January 2015


Sathyabama University, Chennai (Vimalraj 19, Rakesh 16 pts & 13 rbs, Muin Bek 16 pts & 13 rbs, Prem 15 pts & 10 rbs) bt Madras University, Chennai (P Jeevanatham 22 pts & 18 rbs, S Karthikeyan 18, GA Anto 13) 84-80 [20-25, 25-15, 20-22, 19-18]

3rd and 4th Place Match

Bharathiar University, Coimbatore (Manivanan 30, Gopi 30) bt Jain University, Bengaluru (Visu Palani 30, Michael 20 pts & 10 rbs, Yashas Ramesh 18) 118-100 [31-23, 31-21, 28-40, 28-16]

Semifinal League (last two matches held on 8-1-15)

About Association of Indian Universities (AIU)

The idea of bringing together all the universities on a common platform emerged from the deliberations of a Conference of the Vice Chancellors of Universities convened by Lord Reading, the then Viceroy of India at Shimla in 1924. The Inter-University Board (IUB) of India was subsequently formed on March 23, 1925, with the view of promoting university activities, especially by way of sharing information and co-operation in the field of education, culture, sports and allied areas. The Inter-University Board acquired a legal status with its registration in 1967 as a Society under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. In 1973, it assumed its present name: The Association of Indian Universities (AIU). The membership includes traditional universities, open universities, professional universities, Institutes of National Importance and deemed-to-be universities. In addition, there is a provision of granting of Associate Membership to universities of neighbouring countries.

About the All India University Championships

The Association of Indian Universities (“AIU”) Annual Men’s National Basketball Championship Tournament is a large Pan-India basketball tournament.  The winning team is crowned the number one university basketball team in India.  The Tournament is structured similar to the NCAA Basketball tournament in the United States.  It is broken down into regional series which are held in each of four regions in India — The South Zone, the North Zone, the East Zone, and the West Zone.  The teams in each region compete in regional tournaments, and the four winning teams from each region play in the final Tournament – The Inter Zonal Tournament.

About Universal Basketball Alliance of India (UBA)

The Universal Basketball Alliance of India, LLC (“UBA”) has acquired the broadcast, merchandise and sponsorship rights to the existing, and self-governing Indian University Basketball Program.  The UBA is currently securing television broadcasting arrangements, securing corporate sponsorships for tournament play, and creating merchandising opportunities.

UBA will focus its attention on the AIU and popularizing its All India Inter Zonal Tournament as an entertainment product for Indian viewers to enjoy for generations to come, just as Collegiate Basketball is in the United States.

Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a replyComments (0)
  1. Richard Whelan 8 years ago

    This is the largest tournament in the world. India deserves to know that it has/holds the largest!!

    214 of the largest Universities culminates in one final knockout tournament.

    Just one of the 214 Universities (Bangalore University) has 500,000 students and 497 affiliated colleges of which 398 participate in sports. Bangalore University is just one of 214 to try to make it to the finals.


Leave a Reply