ICBL logo

Kolkata, November 30, 2014: St. Xavier’s College proved they had the best hoopsters in the city. The men and women’s team swept the city titles on Day 20 of Indian College Basketball League’s Premier League organized by Basketball Federation of India (BFI) and West Bengal Basketball Association in collaboration with IMG Reliance (IMG R) at WBBA in Kolkata on Sunday.

The men’s team had a dominant run through the league stage having lost just one game and continued their winning ways till they got their hands on the city title. Riding on MVP Siddhant Jaiswal’s 30 points, Xavier’s team beat IIT Kharagpur 66-58 in the title match which was followed after their women’s team’s triumph. Jadavpur University beat MERI 54-43 in the 3rd-4th place fixture.

The women’s team from St. Xavier’s was too good through the league having not lost a single game. They came into the finals with confidence of real champions and that showed in their game. Jadavpur University’s Rubina Laskar scored 14 points but that wasn’t enough as her team lost by 23-47. Laskar, though, won the Rising Star award while Swajata Dey from Xavier’s who also scored 14 points in the final won the MVP award.

Premier League Results


3rd & 4th Place and FINALS


Event Team 1 Team 2 Score(Team1-Team2) Winner Highest Scorer
3rd & 4th Place Jadavpur MERI (54 – 43) Jadavpur Utsav (29) – Satish (18)
FINALS St.Xaviers IIT Kharagpur (66 – 58) St.Xaviers
  1. Jaswal (30) – Mohit (22)


Event Team 1 Team 2 Score(Team1-Team2) Winner Highest Scorer
3rd & 4th Place Vivekanda Loreto (37 – 34) Vivekanda
  1. Bhowmick (21) – Aisha (12)
FINALS St. Xaviers Jadavpur (47 – 23) St. Xaviers
  1. Dey (14) – Rubina Laskar (14)


Rising Star: Jatin Agrawal from St.Xaviers

Most Valuable Player: Siddhant Jaiswal from St.Xaviers

Best Defender: P. Rao from IIT Kharagpur


Rising Star: Rubina Laskar from Jadavpur

Most Valuable Player: Swajata Dey from St.Xaviers

Best Defender: Kaizen Consectioneer from St.Xaviers

Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply