Sardar Dastur Girls

Sardar Dastur Girls

Pune, November 19, 2014: The boys team from Kamal Nayan Bajaj and girls team from Sardar Dastur were crowned city champions in Challengers League of Indian School Basketball League, organized by Basketball Federation of India (BFI) and Basketball Association of Maharashtra in collaboration with IMG Reliance (IMG-R) at Millennium School in Pune on Wednesday.

Mahesh Vidhyalaya boys stood no chance against a rampaging Kamal Nayan Bajaj side. Rushikesh Pawar’s 30 points ensured his side beat Mahesh Vidyalaya by a comfortable margin of 31-56. In the 3rd-4th place fixture, fortune favoured Gurunanak PS as they beat DPS by a slender margin of one point. The final score at the end of fourth quarter was 49-48 in favour of Gurunanak PS.

In the girls category, Sardar Dastur Co Ed also survived a thriller to be crowned as city champions. They beat DAV by 42-39 thanks to Faiziya Sayed’s 27 points. Her consistent performance rightly got her the MVP award too. In the 3rd-4th place match, Kamal Nayan Bajaj beat Abhinava English Medium 31-14. 

Kamal Nayan Bajaj

Kamal Nayan Bajaj

Challenger League Results at Millenium School


Boys: Mahesh Vidyalaya (Pratik Ubhe 14) lost to Kamal Nayan Bajaj (Rushikesh Pawar 30) 31-56

Girls: Sardar Dastur (Faiziya Sayed 27) beat DAV (Sania Nair 23) 42-39

3rd-4th place

Boys: DPS (Ambar Modi 12) lost to Gurunanak PS (Guruprem Singh 24) 48-49

Girls: Kamal Nayan Bajaj (Ashwetha Shinde 8) beat Abhinava English Medium (Pallavi Pranik 7) 31-14

Individual Prizes 

1. Most Valuable Players

Boys: Ezekiel Dsouza (Kamal Nayan Bajaj); Girls: Fauziya Sayyed (Sardar Dastur Girls School)

2. Best Defenders

 Boys: Bikramjit Singh Chawala (Gurunanak Public School); Girls: Unnati Giri (DAV School)

 3. Rising Stars

Boys: Pratik Ubhe (Mahesh Vidyalaya); Girls: Niddhi Palrecha (Sardar Dastur Girls School)

Prize distribution was done by Mr Anvit Phatak, Director: Millennium National School. Also present were Lalit Nahata, Secretary (PDBA), Anand Kulkarni, Suresh Shelar, Pramod Patwardhan, Sachin Gaiwal, Suvarna Limaye, Gopika Kachare.