Final touches being done for the Senior State Basketball Championship at Aluva.

Final touches being done for the Senior State Basketball Championship at Aluva.

Babykutty: The 59th Kerala State Senior Basketball Championship is set to be held at the Carmel Club flood lit stadium from 21st to 26th October 2014. The best performers of the championship will then qualify to the state team that will represent Kerala at India’s Senior National Basketball Championship, slated for December 2014 at Bhilwara as well as the teams for the 35th National Games scheduled in Kerala in February. Teams from 14 districts from the state will battle for the honours in the men’s section and 12 teams will take part in the women’s division.

The tournament will be organized by Carmel Club Aluva under the auspices of Kerala Basketball Association and  Ernakulum District Basketball Association. The St Xaviers College Ground will also host some of the games of the tournament.

Ernakulum (Men) and Thiruvananthapuram (Women) will be looking to defend their titles from their victories last year at Thrissur.

The tournament will feature current senior internationals Jeena PS, Pooamol KS, Stephy Nixon, Neenumol PS along with junior & youth internationals Vinaya Joseph, Amrutha, Mayuka, Vimmy Elizabeth Hillarios, Aneeta P V etc and men will have Subash J Shenoy, Basil Philip, Eudric Perera, Monish Wilson, Vivek, Srerag N Nair, Akhil AR etc.

The Championship will officially get inaugurated by Honourable Minister for Sports Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishna at a function presided by Anwar Sadat, MLA alongwith a celebrity guest cine star.

The closing function will be on 26th evening where the chief guest will be the Arjuna Award Winner  Geethu Anna Rahul.

In the men’s section, three teams from Group A and B and one each from C & D will qualify for the knockouts, while in the women’s section it will be two teams each that will go into the knock out stage.

Participating Teams


  • Group A: Ernakulum, Kottayam, Kollam, Kannur
  • Group B: Thiruvananthapuram, Pathanamthitta, Palakkad, Thrissur
  • Group C: Alapuzha, Wayanad, Idukki
  • Group D: Kozhikode, Malapuram, Kasargod


  • Group A: Thiruvanathapuram, Kollam, Kasargod
  • Group B: Palakkad, Thrissur, Wayanad
  • Group C: Kannur, Ernakulum, Malapuram
  • Group D: Kottayam, Kozhikode, Alapuzha
Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a replyComments (0)
  1. Shabeer 8 years ago

    Can you update timings, what time matches are schedules to start and till when (from 24 Oct to 26 Oct). Information is required urgently please….

  2. Gopalakrishnan R 8 years ago

    Hi Shabeer. Thanks for your comment. It will be best if you speak to Mr Babykutty. His email id is He can share all the details with you. If it is really urgent you can also call him on 09349927652.


Leave a Reply