Mounts Club

Mounts Club

Favourites Mounts BC and Vijaya Bank have been crowned the champions of the women’s and men’s section respectively of the JSC Basketball Championship 2014. Mounts beat Beagles 41-32, while Vijaya Bank overwhelmed Corps of Military Police 74-58.

Centre Roshini top scored for Mounts with 20 points and she has also been named the tournament Most Valuable Player (MVP). In the men’s section, Vijaya Bank point guard Rajesh Uppar was named the tournament MVP. Both the tournament MVPs, Roshini and Rajesh, were awarded a cash prize of Rs 5000/- each.

The Mounts Club winning team received a cash prize of Rs 20,000/- while runners up Beagles BC were awarded Rs 12,000/-. Yesterday, the two losing women’s semifinalists Jayanagar Sports Club and Indiranagar BBC were awarded Rs 5000/- each.

Vijaya Bank

Vijaya Bank

The men’s winners Vijaya Bank received a cash prize of Rs 30,000/-, runners up Corps of Military Police were awarded Rs 20,000. Losing men’s semifinalists Koramangala BC and Young Orions were awarded Rs 10,000/- each and losing men’s quarterfinalists NGVBC, Beagles, JSC and HAL were awarded Rs 5000/- each.

A special prize on behalf of the audience was also given to Nigerian player Agu, from Young Orions, for his sensational scoring performances. Also winning a special mention trophy was CMP’s young star Hrishikesh for his consistent showing through the tournament. Karnataka’s international referee Imran Baig was also felicitated.

Final Results (22-6-14)


Mounts BC (Roshini 20, Sagarika 8, Rithika 6) bt Beagles BC (Nisha 12, Simonelle 6) 41-32 [HT: 24-15]


Vijaya Bank (Aravind 29, Anil Kumar 23) bt Corps of Military Police (Hrishikesh 24, Nesa 11) 74-58 [HT: 34-22]