Thiruvananthapuram winner State Junior Basketball at Koodaranhi resized

Junior Men’s Winners Thiruvananthapuram

Baby Kutty, Kozhikode  1st May 2014: Thiruvananthapuram Jr Men and Kozhikode Jr Women have been crowned champions at the  38th Kerala  State Basketball Championship for Junior Men and Women at the jam-packed St. Sebastian HSS Flood lit Basketball Courts at Koddaranhi.

In the Jr men division Thiruvananthapuram had to hang on till the end to beat a fighting Thrissur with the score 63-59 after trailing 31-32 at the half time with Amal Anto top scoring for the winners with 19 points followed by Prem Prakash making 16  points. For Thrissur it was again an impressive performance from Sijo Mathew who scored 25 points and Antony Johnson contributing 23 points. Thiruvananthapuram came into the final beating Ernakulum who defeated the defending champion Alapuzha in the quarter final; while Thrissur came in tothe final beating last year runner and favourites Kottayam.

Women's winners Kozhikode.

Women’s winners Kozhikode.

In the women section, Kozhikode took the Junior women title defeating the defending champion Kottayam 78-55 after an evenly fought 1st half of 30-30. For Kozhikode their Internationals Elizabeth Hillarios with 34 points and Mayukha KT with 17 points and an equally good performance from Anusha IP with 12 points took them to a sweet victory in the home court. For Kottayam it was again Senior International Poojamol KS who was the top scorer with 29 points and Vinaya Joseph contributed 10 points.

Bronze for Kottayan and Thrissur

Kottayam in Junior Men division and Thrissur in Junior women section grabbed the 3rd Place as they defeated  Ernakulum 34-15 and Alapuzha 59-32 respectively

Cash award for the Best player instituted in memory of former technical committee chairman P.K.S Naidu went to Amal Anto (Thiruvananthapuram) in Jr Men division and Elizabeth Hillarios from Kozhikode bagged the Best Player award in the Jr women section. The championship’s Most Valuable player award instituted by the organiers went to Poojamol K S  from Kottayam and Antony Johnson from Thrissur.

The trophies and mementos were distributed by K Manohara Kumar, President of the Malapuram Basketball Association.

Detailed Results Final

Jr Men

  • Thiruvananthapuram 63 (Amal Anto 19, Prem Prakash 16, Sidharth S V 11) bt Thrissur 63 (Sijo Mathew 25, Antony Johnson 23)

Bronze Medal

Jr Women

  • Thrissur 59 (India Nelson 22, Anna Rose Thomas 13, Aleena Seby 12) bt Alapuzha 32 (Amruth EK 15)

Jr Men

  • Kottayam 34 (Anu Mathew 10) bt Ernakulum 15
Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply