BFI Press Release/ Ludhiana, 31st March 2014: After a month of exciting basketball action it was time to crown Government College Men and Women Champions of the 2013-14 BFI-IMG Reliance College Basketball Champions from Punjab zone. In the finals played on the 23rd Government College Men defeated Khalsa College, Amritsar 83-72. Palpreet Singh top scored for Government College, Ludhiana with 22 points. Nagma scored 32 and the Women’s team downed H.M.V, Jalandhar 84-72 to stake their claim on the Championship title.

In the 3rd place decider Guriqbal Singh’s 21 points helped the men from D.A.V College Jalandhar defeat Lovely College of Engineering, Phagwara 59-38. In the women’s section it was the Government Physical Education from Patiala that finished 3rd with a 75-67 victory over B.B.K D.A.V, Amritsar. The Punjab Basketball Association at a special ceremony held on 23rd March 2014 at the Guru Nanak Basketball Stadium honoured its medal winning teams of 2011,2012 & 2013. The prize money distributed among players was around Rs 12 lakhs. The Punjab Senior Men & Punjab Boys Teams which won 1 Gold, 4 Silver, 2 Bronze Medals in the National Basketball Championships were honoured along with International players Satnam Singh Bhamra, Palpreet Singh, Gurbinder Singh Gill, Loveneet Singh, Prabhnoor Singh, Rahul Mehla, Jaipal Singh and Gagandeep Kaur. The Coaches that were also felicitated were Ashwani Kumar BSF, Lakhwinder Singh, Gurkirpal Singh and Jaipal Singh of Punjab Police and Davinder Pal Singh along with Harjinder Singh SAI Coaches. Senior Internationals Talwinderjit Singh and Jagdeep Singh were specially honoured for their outstanding performances over a decade. Mr. R.S. Gill, President, Punjab Basketball Association presided over the function.

Prominent personalities who attended the function included:- Mr. Teja Singh Dhaliwal, Secy. Genl,Punjab Basketball Association, Mr. Yurinder Singh Hayer IPS Vice President, Punjab Basketball Association. Mr. J.P. Singh PCS Vice President, Mr. G.S. Toor IPS, Mr. G.S. Chahal PCS etc., Mr. Balbir Singh Grewal Hockey Olympian, Mr. Sukhvir Singh Grewal Hockey Olympian, Mr. Hardeep Singh Grewal Hockey Olympian, Mr. Jagdeep Singh Gill, Mr. Amrik Singh Powar and Manjit Singh Zonal Commissioner MCL.





Government College, Ludhiana (Palpreet Singh 22 ) bt Khalsa College, Amritsar 83-72


Government College, Ludhiana (Nagma 32 ) H.M.V, Jalandhar 84-72

Third Place


D.A.V College, Jalandhar (Guriqbal Singh 21 ) bt Lovely College of Engineering, Phagwara 59-38


Government Physical Education, Patiala (Harpeeet Kaur 22 ) bt B.B.K D.A.V, Amritsar 75-67

Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply