Babykutty/Press Release: Defending Champions Punjab Police and hosts Kerala have got off to a good start at the 62nd All India Police Games (Basketball) being held in Thrissur.

In various league matches played on the opening day,  Punjab Police defeated Odhissa 94-46, Kerala beat Gujarat 83-24, Uttar Pradesh beat Rajasthan 71-53, Jammu and Kashmir beat West Bengal 53-29, Harayana got better of Bihar 68-23 and Jharkhand beat Madhya Pradesh 43-28.

25 teams are in action and have been divided into eight groups. The teams will play on a league cum knock out basis, with the best team from each group progressing to the knock out stages.


Group A  Punjab, Rajasthan, UP and Odhissa

Group B  Haryana, Bihar & Chhattisgarh

Group C  B.S.F, Karnataka & Tamil Nadu

Group D  C.R.P.F, C.I.S.F  & S.S.B

Group E  J & K, West Bengal & I.T.B.P

Group F  Kerala, Gujarat & Andhra Pradesh

Group G  Maharashtra, Jharkhand & Madhya Pradesh

Group H  Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand & Railway Protection Force

Detailed Results

Group A

  • Punjab Police 94 (Harminder Singh 21, Ranbir Singh 18, Komalpreet Singh 14) bt Odhissa 46 (Sanjeeb KU 20)
  • Uttar Pradesh 71 (Shyam Vir Singh 18, Intjar Singh 17, Sachin Pamwar 11) bt Rajasthan 53 (Raviraj Singh 19, Deepak 14)

Group B

  • Haryana 68 (Vikas 19, Murali 10) bt Bihar 23 (Manvendra 12)

Group E

  • Jammu & Kashmir 53 (Iqbal Singh 25) bt West Bengal 29 (Chandranath Paul 13)

Group F

  • Kerala 83 (Jomon Jose 21, Anu Mohan Das 16, Sreejith Nair 10) bt Gujarat 21)

Group H

  • Jharkhand 43 (Shamshad 10, Dinesh 10) bt Madhya Pradesh 38 (Basanth S 12, Naveen A 10)
Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a replyComments (0)
  1. Arun Charan 8 years ago

    How can I contact u for coverage of our league tournament to be organized by us soon

  2. ekalavya 8 years ago

    Hi Arun,

    Please drop us a mail at giving us your media requirements. You can also call us on 08197235684 for details.

    The Ekalavya Posts Team


Leave a Reply