A member of the State Selection Committee announces the lists of probables while Kerala Basketball Association's (KBA) President Shri K Manoharan (seated far right) looks on.

A member of the State Selection Committee announces the lists of probables while Kerala Basketball Association’s (KBA) President Shri K Manoharan (seated far right) looks on.

Following the successful conclusion of the 58th Kerala Senior State Championship in Thrissur earlier this week, the State Selection Committee has announced the list of players that have been invited to the upcoming training camp for selection to the Senior State Teams. Based on their performance at this camp, a final shortlist of players will be made for the men’s and women’s squads which will participate in the 64th Senior National Championship for Men and Women at the Thyagaraj Indoor Stadium, New Delhi from 26th February to 5th March 2014.

In a welcome display of transparency, the lists of probables were publicly declared immediately after the conclusion of the finals of the Senior State Championship.



1. Basil Philip2. Bony Mathew3. Abhilash T S4. Monish Wilson

5. Nikhil K R

6. Subash J Shenoy

*All from Ernakulam

7. Ajeeth Sugunan

8. Vijoby Vackachan

9. Albin Baby

10. Umesh Krishnan

*All from Thiruvananthapuram

11. Edwin Irvin

12. Nicewin M

*Both from Pathanamthitta

13. Akhil Mathew Sunny

14.  Sreerag N Nair

*Both from Kottayam

15. Jijo Thankachan

16. Jomon Jose

*Both from Palakkad

17. Jovin P Vincent (from Thrissur)

18. Eudrick Pereira

19. Manoj R

1. Stephy Nixon2. Jeena P S3. Merlin Baby4. Rosmy Thomas

*All from Thiruvananthapuram

5. Neenumol PS

6. Athira M

7. Surya P R

8. Ligimol P

*All from Palakkad

9. Anjana P G

10. Ashwathy S Thampi

11. Angeleena Joy

*All from Kannur

12. Poojamol K S

13. Minnu Mariam Joy

* Both from Kottayam

14. Chippy Mathew (from Ernakulam)

15. Grima Merlin Varghese (from Thrissur)

16. Anu Thomas (from Kozhikode)


Of the 19 men probables, 6 are from Ernakulam district, 4 from state capital Thiruvananthapuram, 2 each from Pathanamthitta, Kottayam and Palakkad and one from Thrissur. As can be seen from this classification, as usual, majority of the male players have been picked up from the Ernakulam team (6 in total) that comprises the stars from the Customs & Central Excise, Kochi squad. Ernakulam’s ex-international veteran Subash Shenoy, who made cameo appearances in the semifinals and finals of this Senior State Championship, has also been invited to the camp.

The four players selected from Thiruvananthapuram district are employees of the Kerala State Electricity Board and BSNL. Interestingly, another Customs employee Eudrick Pereira has made the cut but not as part of the Ernakulam district zone.  This can probably be attributed to the fact that Eudrick did not participate in this Senior State Championship due to a recurring leg injury.

Among the 16 women, 4 players each are from the Senior State Championship finalists, Thiruvananthapuram & Palakkad. Most of these eight players, that includes current internationals Stephy Nixon and Jeena PS, are experienced campaigners employed with the Kerala State Electricity Board and Kerala Police respectively. Also making an entry into the senior squad are promising youngsters Poojamol K S and Grima Merlin Verghese, who starred in their team’s runners up finish against Chhattisgarh in the Junior Nationals held in Cuttack, Odisha earlier this year.


Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply