The following are the detailed results of the finals of the 49th PSG All India Basketball Tournament, Coimbatore. The tournament was organised by the PSG Institute of Technology at their indoor sports complex began on 10th August and concluded on 15th August.

Eight men’s teams and seven women’s teams are said to have taken part. This is the 49th edition in the men’s section and 12th edition among women.

The final men’s match saw ONGC Dehradun get the better of Indian Overseas Bank, Chennai. The match between two even teams on paper turned out to be surprisingly one-sided in favour of ONGC.

Current India captain and ONGC’s guard Vishesh Bhriguvanshi top scored with 22 points. He was ably supported by fellow Varanasi mate Trideep Rai who contributed 19. For IOB, Amjyot Singh managed 19 of his team’s 48 total points. With this win, ONGC took home the 49th PSG Trophy.

In the women’s section, Southern Railway proved unstoppable yet again and lifted the 12th CRI Pumps Trophy. International star, Geethu Anna Jose, who is widely regarded as one of India’s greatest women’s players, scored 30 mammoth points in the post. International Anitha Pauldurai and Neena Hareendran chipped in with 21 and 11 pts respectively.

Results of Finals (15/8/12)

Southern Railway 70 (Geethu Anna Jose 30, Anitha Pauldurai 21, Neena Hareendran 11) bt South Central Railway 53, Gayathri M 16, Manda Mesh Ram 12, Aashna Ujwanaj 11)

ONGC Dehradun 70 (Vishesh Bhriguvanshi, Trideep Rai 19, Amritpal Singh 12) bt Indian Overseas Bank 48 (Amjyot Singh 19, Prasanna Venkatesh 9, Rikin Pethani 8)

Republished with permission from The original post can be found here

Gopalakrishnan R
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply